Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2017
Easy for beginners and moving onto something with a little more complexity and flair, I bought it because I clean our local village hall, it's put a smile on some faces. A fun purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
But does employ origami techniques to create some interesting bog-roll art. The "models" vary from simple to quite involved, but none of them are very difficult - easy intermediate on the conventional origami scale, I would say. The rose on the cover is about the most difficult, but all are explained well with good illustrations.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 February 2010
I really love this book, its so easy to follow and the instructions are well thought out. My friends think that it's great fun and think they must be so hard to do, the "rose" looks hard to do but is easy after the fist one or two. I have been known to make some and leave them when I'm out and about,its just a pity I never see the smiles when they are found. Go on buy the book and make someone smile.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
This book is well printed and layed out. The instructions are easy to follow, and results look good and make people smile as well.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I purchased this book on a whim but it turned out to be great fun. The various designs are easy to follow and the instructions are clear. If you want to turn you boring toilet roll into a piece of art then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Bought for my sister in law and had a little go myself before wrapping it. Quite fun. My son ask after where had the paper rabbit gone. Told him it had gone for a ride down toilet
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Toilet Paper Origami (Ed. 2.0) / Toilet Paper Origami - on a Roll (Ed. 1.0)

This review covers both the above books.

I came across these two books by Lynda Wright while looking for something to display/teach at an Origami convention in the UK (yes there are such things!). The theme for the convention was paper - toilet paper (TP) is 'paper' so why not?

For the origami purists out there not all the TP designs in these books are pure origami, i.e. they are not all just folded, most are but not all. Some employ twisting, some employ punching holes and some involve other decoration; there is even very occasional use (say it very quietly) of scissors!

The books are in black and white (except the covers). Every design has a full page photo of the finished article and the instructions for each design are given via photos of each stage with accompanying text. There is even the occassional bit of TP trivia for good measure.

The folding techniques employed are at the simple end of things but because TP is not the sort of paper normally used for folding it presents its own challenges; you are not going to get sharp creases for example. A few of the designs will provide a challenge so might take a few attempts to get a pleasing result.

All TP is not the same; it can be plain; have embossed patterns in it; it may be quilted etc some designs might work better with certain types of TP. Another point to note is that the author is from the USA and it looks like US TP is approx 4 inches (10 cm) square / sheet. In the UK a TP sheet is approx 4 x 5 inches (10 x 12.5 cm); so rectangular not square. You need to take this into account in some of the designs.

The designs are meant to be made and displayed on the end of the toilet roll while it is still on the toilet roll holder (loose end hanging over the top of the toilet roll). The second book also introduces some designs for your spare TP roll.

I haven't made all the designs in these books but taught / displayed a range of the designs (with the authors' permission) as follows:

Taught: Sailboat Afloat (book 1); Heart in a Sleeve (book 1); PaperWhite in a Point (book 1); Rosebud (book 1); Candlestick (book 2); Upsy Daisy (book 2) - this was all done in approx 1 hour and well received.

Display: Upsy Daisy (book 2); Corsage (book 2); Fandangle (book 1); Ship Ahoy (book 2); Bodacious Bow (book 2); Pretty Posy (book 2); Candlestick (book 2).

So overall a fun / quirky off shoot for those into their paper folding (as well as for those that have never tried it). Hopefully it won't drive you around the bend :)

Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
I have not yet used all the designs in this book as some require some study before you enter the loo to do the business ....and the origami. But it is fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
I bought this book (aswell as Linda Wright's other Toilet Paper Origami book) to use for a micro-teaching exercise thinking that it would be an unusual activity. However most of the designs (and all the best designs) are only suitable for American loo paper. American loo paper is square, whereas UK loo roll is rectangular. Origami is reliant on starting with a perfect square.Therefore, I can't use the ideas. Very disappointed. Not a bad book though, but I can't really imagine who would want to use the ideas in reality!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I bought this book while off work with a broken foot, I love this book every toilet in my house has a design from the book, it a very easy book to follow, so addictive, that when I use other bathrooms I leave an origami design. When I put my house up for sale they all said how lovely the toilet paper was presented at feed back, sold within two days purchaser has asked me to leave the toilet rolls I have done. Xxxxx
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)