Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2016
The book is quite similar in style to Japanese from Zero! 1. However, there has been a lot less care taken this time. The book is absolutely littered with mistakes, English language mistakes and more worryingly Japanese language mistakes: typos, incorrect translations, mixing up answers, layout mistakes, the lot. In addition, there are times when the answers to questions require vocabulary that hasn't been previously mentioned, and isn't even covered soon after (if at all). In Japanese from Zero! 1 I found the particle explanation "wa/ha" and "ga" to be quite good, however in this second book we are using the particle "de", without any explanation clarifying the difference between "de" and "ni".

That said, overall the book is still a good main guide to learning Japanese, you just have to be careful and prepared to use other sources when the book is lacking. In my experience, language books are often poor and don't have a very good pedagogical approach. That is where this book is good, following on from book 1; it's just a shame about the lack of care taken, the book could be so much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
I like this series, and this book seems like it has packed a bit more in than the first one, so that's a plus. Additionally, I enjoy the overall tone of the book; it is accessible, friendly, and has a certain charm to it unlike some other textbooks I've used. Because of this, it is a bit less daunting, and a little easier to get into, although I would recommend using other materials as well (especially audio & speaking practice) so that your learning is well rounded. I highly recommend the Author's corresponding YouTube series which goes over each lesson individually.

With that being said, this book is definitely not without flaws. I have come across numerous typos and mistakes just within the first 4-5 lessons. I think it is important that better steps are taken with quality control and proof reading, as this is an issue I had with book 1 also. Not only are there mistakes in English, but I have also found a few mistakes in Japanese. I know typos are bound to happen here and there, but considering that this is a book for learning a language, the errors are much more damaging to the content.

I have tried contacting the author through his website to bring some attention to one of the major mistakes I noticed, but I have no way of knowing if my message was received. If anybody knows of a better way to report mistakes to him please let me know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
After going through Book 1 twice, I was ready to take the plunge.
Again, the book shares the same clear layout as Book 1. It contains many different types of learning activity to encourage learners to keep practising.

Each chapter uses a new topic (e.g. my cat) to present the language. The topics chosen seem very relevant to normal life and not as esoteric or specific as some texts, where focus has been on business trips or such like. Here it's down to earth subject matter for everday life. Some of the example conversations are quite funny too which helps memory retention and I think are included for light relief.

Book 1 had some strange little typo's and other odd choices for language but Book 2 seems to have none of those.

There are some particularly excellent sections regarding the explanations of particles, something that should and is done concisely. This is an often recurring theme; concepts are explained with a minimum of fuss.

Above all, the book will increase your fluency. You are exposed to many language patterns and get a chance to practice the language in a multitude of ways. As it should be.

Good job to the authors. Book 3 already on its way.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
After struggling to find self-teaching methods for learning a foreign language which worked for me, this series of books offered an extremely helpful format and system to progress from an absolute beginners status when learning Japanese. Working through these books alongside George Trombley's accompanying YouTube series is a fun and useful method which kept me on track and never losing focus. I am nearing the purchase of Book 3 and I cannot recommend them enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
Probably one of the best books out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Just got book 2 many thanks to George Trombley and his team , 2 great books and for videos on youtube.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Very good and easy to understand book series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
This is an amazing set of books to have in your library if you are serious about learning Japanese. I bought them for my son as he is learning how to speak and write the language, the books give step by step tuition on how to do both in a very easy to understand way. Learning Japanese, then you'll do well to purchase this wonderful trio of books.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
The second entry in the Japanese From Zero! series is just as good as the previous one, containing extensive grammar rules, vocabulary and, of course, katakana, albeit with a few changes in the layout and designs of the pages. This book starts off where the previous book ended, so if you haven't already purchased the first one it's essential that you complete it first, as you will be very confused if you start this one with no previous knowledge of the Japanese language. This book covers vocabulary and types of sentences that you'd use in your day to day life, talking about formal and informal forms of words, providing cultural context so you don't say anything offensive or strange, and giving lessons on other useful things to know, and it's a very effective learning tool, even if you're teaching yourself (which I did).

Although the layout and structure of this book is very learner-friendly and accessible, the book unfortunately has a few editing errors, which generally consist of kana that you haven't learned yet appearing in words in vocabulary lists. If you don't understand what that means, all of the Japanese words in the book start off being spelt in Roman lettering, which you are reading right now, but as you learn more kana, the symbols that you have learnt start being implemented into the spellings of those words. For example, the Japanese word for cake would start off being spelt as "keeki", but when you learn the symbol for "ke", it will be spelt in the later chapters as "ケ-ki". This system is incredibly useful, as it drills the symbols you know into your head so you know them by reflex, but sometimes words are written in full kana due to incorrect editing, forcing the reader to go to the glossary at the end of the book to see what the symbol sounds like. Whilst being a minor issue, I thought that this was important to mention, as some people may become confused and think that they didn't know some kana that they should have learnt earlier, or think that maybe they skipped a bit of the book where you learn the new kana.

Besides the minor errors, this book is greatly helpful and plentiful in content that assists learners and teaches them new concepts/grammar rules effectively. If you're interested in learning Japanese for either professional reasons or out of interest, I'd recommend no other book series to you than Japanese From Zero!, as it doesn't overload you with information and allows you to learn at your own pace. For the amount of content here, the price is completely justified, so if you want to start learning this intricate and fascinating language, look no further and purchase this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
The second book I own from the series. The grammar is explained in clear and easy to understand manner, and new everyday vocabularies are introduced in every chapter. The drills are made in such a way that they aren't too hard and yet still challenges me to think and practice, therefore motivating me to keep on picking up the book.

You will learn Katakana as you go along. You practice katakana not just by memorizing the characters but practicing them by writing them in words as you go through the book. By the end of the book, just like Hiragana in book 1, you will be able to read and write it well.

Also,as said by the first reviewer, there seem to no more of those spelling errors that are in book 1.

I haven't finished book 2 yet but book 3 is already on its way so I can immediately start on it once number 2 is done. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)