Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 November 2006
I bought this as I'd pretty much exhausted the virtual pose books (also well worth buying) not really expecting it to be as good. In fact, in some ways it's actually better. The poses, like the VP ones, are viewable from all round (not quite 360 degrees in this book, it's more a progression of photos around the model. The image jumps between pictures rather than smoothly turns round. On the other hand, they are taken from higher and lower angles so you get different views to draw from.)and they are also higher definition than the VP ones. There's a reasonable selection of body types for the female models, though they tend towards the slim and people annoyed at the blurring of the female images in VP will be pleased to note it doesn't occur on these pictures. If I have any crititcism it would be that they could have had a few more non-caucasion models and possibly more useful poses, but if you want to practice your life drawing and there aren't any classes around, then this book or the Virtual Pose series are a good alternative.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2017
Features a collection of color imagers of male and female models in at least four different angles for each pose. Each pose is titled in an effort to explain the position. Some blurring so as not to offend. Most models are provided a written profile and there is some artwork evidently culled from images. Insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2011
This is a nice collection of different poses. The models are attractive and the poses lend themselves to a number of different renderings, depending on the medium in which the artistchooses to work. This is a pretty good reference work to have on your shelf. You may also want to check out THE ARTIST'S MODELS series of books. THE ARTIST'S MODEL: JENNY, PART 2 (VOL. 41) THE ARTIST'S MODEL: MARY THE ARTIST'S MODEL: SANDY (Vol. 28)
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2011
I downloaded the Kindle version of this - I am a professional artist and have a number of other similar books, and was interested to see how well it worked on the Kindle. On the positive side, the picture quality is reasonable - though the screen size probably makes it difficult to use for anything other than sketching. What was odd though, was that there is a lack of consistancy with the poses - some have only a few angles while others have both more angles and different elevations. The other odd aspect was the fact that in a significant number of the poses, the models were dressed. Life drawing is about gaining knowledge about the human form and the muscles, balance, etc. Clothed figure reference is also useful, but it is not what this book is advertising itself as.

Sadly, my impression of the whole was that it was incomplete while also having material inserted from some other book. In fact it was so odd, that I am tempted to get hold of a paper copy to see if it is the same.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2009
In all honesty, i haven't found this book as useful as I'd hoped. Some of the poses are too contrived to be of any good to me ( check out Threading the Needle...wtf )and some of them are inaccurate depictions of people using various weapons, like who holds a sword like that, I wonder ? Also I would have welcomed more in the way of different male models, the three here are all slim, youngish, no muscle definition to speak of, which for me was disappointing as that's what I like to paint the most - muscles ! A couple of the poses were repeated with different models, which I thought was unnecessary tbh. I suspect that to get the most out of the book, you need the disc that goes with it.
But it's a good learning tool, just no good for inclusion in finished art I'm afraid.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
Offered to my wife as she is an artist and is being veru useful to her using as models for her arts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2014
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2009
The book is good, it shows various positions and various views of that position.

My main problem with this book is the models, they are wearing far too much make up, which is distracting, a couple have tattoos, which i dont like for this. Also they odd objets they are holding, like a guitar, a nude, with a guitar? or a ninja pose, but nude. it just doesn't work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)