Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2012
Shibari is a 'simple' erotic bondage practice. 'Simple' means that it doesn't include complicated knots or so and more complicated rope ties are constructed from some basic ones.
This books explain well how can you create these basic rope ties and give ideas how can you proceed further on with more complicated ones. Few words and more photos help to understand well all the principles.
In the beginning gives safety guidelines but without to overcome it like some other books of this kind and also helpful information about what rope to use and other useful hardware (in this point it could be a bit more detailed but it keeps it simple to avoid complications)
If I would like to criticize something then it could be the avoidance to refer to the original Japanese names for specific type of ties. It has a point saying that people can remember practical names, but Japanese names could be there just for reference.
Overall one of the best book I have read about the topic
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Love this book so much. Full safety brief and brief intro to the history. Colour photographs and pretty clear step by step instructions. Uses a variety of models in both body size and colour and offers a number of modifications for the less flexible among us. The author explains the basic principles and techniques and then shows ways to put them together into more formal poses. The best thing is that unlike the Knotty Boys book is that it doesn't feel like an excuse to go "hur hur boobies"; it doesn't feel pervy or power-imbalanced which is great as a woman who likes to top as well as bottom.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
A great book on shibari with excellent illustrations. It does however take some effort to use as you have different options to choose from in the ties and some of the knots take a few moments to understand. Therefore it is not as good for novices as say the two knotty boys books. However as a follow on book for those who have some experience of bondage and want to move onto the next level this book is perfect.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
I absolutely love this book, I haven't stopped reading it at practicing the techniques. I highly recommend this book for everyone that is into Japanese bondage and want to learn more or just want to have this in they're collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
I feel this review will only cover old ground but it's worth stating anyway:

Having read a range of introductory books on Shibari, this is hands down the best technical guide I have encountered. It's coverage of health and safety and mechanical aspects in addition to well drawn clear diagrams and focus on a component based approach make this an excellent choice for beginner and seasoned rigger alike.

On the down side the lack of variety amongst the models is rather disappointing, particularly when compared to the variety of genders and shapes in books by Lee Harrington and Midori, for example.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Any one wanting to get into shibari or rope this is a must have!! Along with both the two knotty boys books and some rope of course and you'll be off to a great start! It's very informative and gives step by step instructions on how to complete simple to complex ties! It was dispatched and delivered quickly and I would highly recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Complete Shibari is no way exhaustive library of different shibari techniques (as it says in the very beginning of the book) but is is rather a good manual for beginner in the field of bondage and shibari

This is not only advices how to perform different famous shibari-style bonds but it also explains things behind the rope:
Safety, loops, ropes and basic hints and ideas for interaction between "top" and "bottom", or rigger and victim

Not necessarily too helpful for experienced players but almost a must for beginners!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Yeah, it's a bit expensive for a book, but this is a bit of a niche market after all.. The photo's are well taken and make it easy to see the knots, the book's well written and not cheap and tacky. I'll be getting volume 2 once I've worked my way through this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
High quality images and intuitive keys allow you to follow the ties from start to finish with ease. Not overly written, which is only a good thing. Encourages experimentation, as well as safety. A really good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This is great for any bondage enthusiast. Great for beginners and one of the best I've seen so far :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)