Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22
4.1 out of 5 stars


on 14 October 2017
Excellent manageable meditation! Really helps to understand what you are trying to achieve!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I have only practiced the first meditation three times so far, so cannot claim any long-term benefits as yet, but his voice is extremely soothing and peaceful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2008
If you are keen to develop a regular meditation routine, but would struggle to find even 30 minutes at a sensible hour of day to practice, this 'Guided Meditations' CD meets its promise, with short meditations in the Mindful Meditative Tradition. There are seven meditations between 7 and 9 minutes long and one 3 minute breathing space, for those really tight days! Bodhipasksa has a gentle Scottish voice that I find very pleasant to listen to. I found the themes comparable to those outlined by Jon Kabet Zinn I would also recommend 'Meditations for Busy People' if you are keen to develop a Mindful Practice.

Jon Kabet Zinn brought mindfulness into the mainstream medicine for the management of long term heath problems, depression and stress, and some people will be familiar with this approach through stress, depression and pain management programmes run by the NHS and private clinics. If you are looking for resources to develop this approach, I would recommend this book as an introduction Wherever You Go, There You are and audio CD if you prefer to listen Mindfulness for Beginners and audio CD's of longer meditations Guided Mindfulness Meditation (Guided Mindfulness)
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
This is one of the best meditation cd's I have heard. It does exactly what it says in the title. 9 meditations varying in length from just over 3 minutes to just over 9 minutes and Bodhipaksa has exactly the right voice to put them across. A brilliant antidote to todays hurry and scurry lifestyle.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
Great for when you haven't time for a longer session. Pleasant voice, and links well to my Buddhist meditation class yet presumes no prior knowledge. I use this regularly and find it very useful.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This review is about the audio download.

The content is great. Bodhipaksa has a soothing Scottish accent and his pacing is good, the meditations good too.

However, I cannot recommend the Audible download at all.
Firstly, it supplies the whole CD in one track, thus removing any chapter markers between meditations.
For the type of content this is, - long & segmented I consider this to be very slack. If you need to stop part way (who can listen straight for an hour or two?) or need to, say, choose a meditation, you can't. You'll have to start from the beginning or waste time scanning through the whole track. It has made the download version of this pretty much unusable. After all, it is supposed to be for people who don't have a lot of time to spare, so I don't have the time to scan a track over an hour long.

Secondly, the bit rate is so low, you can hear a major quality deterioration.

Audible cannot supply a high quality file with proper chapter markings.
Technically, this isn't an audiobook at all, but an instruction CD so Audible shouldn't be selling it anyway, it should be an mp3 download like other meditation CDs.
So my one star is for the great content but it loses four because of the poor technical handling of this by Amazon.
So if you're buying, get the actual CD. Don't bother with the Audible download.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
As stated, it is ideal if you have limited time or don't want to hit the high notes of a full blown hour long meditation session. I have tried a number of these meditation CDs, all seem to be along the same lines so I was pleased that this one was a little different.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
I never have the time or the energy to get to meditation classes and to be honest, don't always relish the idea of spending time with very `worthy' and `deep' people, so this CD is a Godsend! You can pop it on when you need to recharge your batteries and the short meditations give an excellent jump-start. If you are a busy person, if you don't like group meditation, if you like to be able to pop a cd in your bag and go find somewhere beautiful to sit and meditate, then this is the CD for you.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
Excellent variety of short guided meditations - including a powerful 3 minute breathing meditation showing how the practice can be integrated into the busiest lifestyle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
I have been meditating using the CDs produced by Breathworks, but was looking for some fresh inspiration. This CD, recommended by a friend, proved an excellent choice. I liked the voice (a gentle Scottish accent) and the way you could choose a short meditation from a wide selection to detox the stressed brain and body rapidly. In short, I am glad that I have added this to my collection of meditation CDs.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)