Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2017
I liked the text, but the book (the cover and the format in general) was quite disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Disappointed not what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
This translation of the HYP is a simple translation of the text without commentary. Brian Dana Akers has translated this text direct from the Sanskrit with integrity and purpose. His intention to make this ancient text neutral and accessible to a modern audience while being as faithful to the original text as possible. The HYP (and particularly this version) should not be read without a knowledgeable yoga teacher's guidance.

The HYP is considered to be the seminal Hatha Yoga text, but you will not be able to perform the postures by simply reading the translations. It requires commentary and instruction. As an alternative to the widely used Bihar School version, this edition offers an interesting comparison. The photographs of the postures are scattered in the asana section so do not appear on the same page as the description, but this being a translation with no commentary, you realise how short and concise the text actually is!

My biggest criticism is that I would have liked the sanskrit (in all its visual beauty) to be followed by a readable/pronouncable version of the sanskrit for the westerner. I like to be able to make some connection with the translation and the sanskrit words.

For my purposes (which was to find an alternative to the Bihar version) I would have given it a 3 star, but for his own intentions with the text I have given Brian Dana Akers' version a 4 star.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2016
This ancient text will interest, inform and surprise you. Really for serious yoga students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Brilliant product, fast delivery - very happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Does what it says on the tin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
arrived as stated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)