Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2016
Another excellent and readable book by Bill. Plenty of great tips, excellent references (Die Hard, Face/off etc) and humorous observations. A must read for any scriptwriter and a bargain on Kindle. This and Save the Cat have now become my script bibles... if only those great scripts just wrote themselves...!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
While general screenwriting books get you going and provide some important pointers they remain general. What Martell has done with Secrets of Action Screenwriting is looking into what makes action movies work. This is such a focussed piece of work you'll be reading action films with a whole new mindset and most likely applying it to your film ideas. Right from the start he nails the genre and for me personally the villains plan thoughts got me improving a script idea in seconds. Martell is an ideas man, film man and has a done a whole load of analysis so you can dip in before exploring action for yourself and through your own work. Melodrama writers need not apply. This is a book for solving evil plans of world domination, destroying the ray gun pointing at Wall St, £3bn robberies et al
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2005
Given that the the essence of all drama is conflict, it's inevitable that you will want the conflict in your screenplay to be the best it can be. What William C Martell has managed is to write a book that, while it's ostensibly about writing action for the screen, has wisdom and insight that will help you write better conflict - period.
Every element he describes, the villian's plan, the reversal, the hamlet moment, personal injuries, sidekicks, secrets and lies and so on, works not just for 'action scenes', but can equally be applied to construction of dialogue or to ordinary action.
Hang the expense, track down and buy this book now, it's worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2005
Now out of print but a must read for anyone contemplating writing a screenplay with any action elements. This is particularly strong on structuring a screenplay to create a 'bladder burster' and cleverly relates examples to successful films such as Die Hard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Great book. Sensible, to the point and full of clear and well considered advice on writing action. I'm a 19 year veteran fight director and I agree with everything this guy says...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Comprehensive, illuminating, direct and persuasive. I found it not only informative to read, but fun. And I'm more clear and enthusiastic than ever in creating my first script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
Every single page has useful insights for action films. I'm only halfway through, but I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
A seriously good read for anybody interested in writing. You won't be able to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
Essential reading for any burgeoning screenwriter. Bills script secrets are an absolute must. I would also recommend attending any of his Script Secrets seminars. His way of demystifying script theory/terminology makes it a fun read and not a chore. Plus Bill is a credited screenwriter which makes his writings more credible. Also check out his tips via twitter @wcmartell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)