Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2017
Living literally a few miles from the home of Jane Austen I have high standards when it comes to follow up works from her excellent books. Linda Berdoll does not disappoint! She writes in appropriate period language, has a little fun with the post marriage side of the story, but I can still see and hear Jan'es original characters shining through. There is tragedy, their is laughter and all emotions in between. Quite un -put-downable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
What a sad story miscarriage horrendous still birth lonely pregnancy and delivery of twins happy birth of new baby followed by his death at eight months only to dig him up poor might to collect a lock of his hair. After reading the prequel and this I don't quite know if I will have the courage to read the sequal. After each chapter I felt I would like a lie down in a dark room with a vinegar plaster on my head as I felt a tension headache coming on. I do like a jolly regency romp and this most certainly isn't it. However these were not cheap buys, so having bought them and being a miser I will probably get around to finishing all three. I have given three stars as the use of language is reasonably good with very little Americanisms. I have read so many P&P sequals I can now even read gotten without squirming.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Oh Dear! This novel lacked story and direction. All those pages I ploughed through, and when I got to the end I thought to myself "What actually happened?" I would have loved to give a synopsis of the storyline as I find it really helps me to decide whether to buy a book or not, if the reviewer provides one. But I am really struggling to recall any memorable moments at all. It just made me yawn a lot.I found the whole thing very tedious and began skipping whole chapters at times.

This novel added nothing to Linda Berdoll's first two books ,continuing on from Pride and Prejudice, which I enjoyed immensely. I'm afraid to say it's a definite miss.
 The Darcys: The Ruling Passion
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
I got this book after reading the first 2 offerings by Linda Berdoll (which I really enjoyed). I can only say I was really put out when I started reading, I really struggled to finish this(shear pigheadness played a part in me finishing). It took me ages to read, mainly because I found I was having to re-read quite alot of the text.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
I have read Linda Berdoll's other 2 books and this picks up the loose ends nicely, as a sequel to p&p when read with the other 2 books they have plenty of story and move along slowly, unlike other books which read more like an epilogue. I like a bit of passion and romance, but some of the vivid descriptions are a bit to much, maybe I think should be left to the readers imagination. Lastly I found it a bit too sad, when it came to the matter of their children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
If you enjoyed the other two books, don't waste your time or money buying this. I persevered with it hoping it would get better but sadly no, nothing happens!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
What can I say? I loved this book as I have the others in the series. I thoroughly disagree with the negative comments of some other critics and advise you read it as it is meant, as a follow up by another writer, in another century. I enjoyed her writing, use of euphemisms and her interpretation of 'what happened next'. Of course there are mistakes regarding who is or is not a Lord/Sir/Baron or the like but this did not offend either my sense or sensibilities and neither my pride nor prejudice would dissuade anyone from reading it! So press that button and enjoy....its only a book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2017
It is a truth generally acknowledged that Regency dialogue is difficult. Ms Berdoll might have been well advised to check if Jane Austen, in deepest Hampshire, would ever have encountered the word "maven". [spoiler - no she would not]. As for the bedroom mirror being placed so the happy couple could watch their connubial bliss - not in a million years. The soft porn is barely above tabloid newspaper standard, and all in all, the book is a complete waste of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
Oh my! This book will make your heart pound and your hands tremble. Unputdownable! It is not for the faint hearted though, it is possibly the most angst filled pride and prejudice sequals I have read but definitively worthwhile. They face a lot of hardships but I love that theire love does not faulter...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
I loved this book, it has everything... Love, intrigues, passion and so much laughter. Darcy and Lizzy were just how I'd imagined them to be and she stayed almost true to all characters. My main criticism is it is overly wordy...a definite abuse of a thesaurus, but a pleasure to read all the same...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse