Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
50
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2017
I'm really impressed by Voss' prose style and his eye for what matters in a particular situation. He wrote this in captivity at the age of 20-21, which makes it all the more remarkable, untainted by retrospection or future constraints on the controversial subject of The Waffen SS. As such, this is another of the remarkable documents written by young soldiers rather than high ranking officers wishing to protect their reputation.

The description of action against Russian, Finnish and American foes is unembellished and thus remains convincing. His portrayal of pre-war Germany and the glimpses of Germany at war are welcome and revealingly. Even more than this, are the passages that deal with guilt by association, the power of comrades and the unity of purpose that can make up for being overwhelmingly outnumbered, outgunned and outresourced. This is a remarkable testament.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
No problems downloading whatsoever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2008
This is the kind of book I had always hoped to find - an intelligent and well-written first-hand narrative and reflection of someone who has been a volunteer of the Waffen-SS. I'm glad that with this book I did. I don't think there are many other books that even fall in the same category, let alone that would compare to it.

The book might be disappointing to those who are interested merely in battle field action, but for the same reason it can be all the more fascinating and rewarding to those who are also, or perhaps even mainly, interested in the private thoughts and motivations of people who volunteered in those days and went on to do the fighting (and sometimes even, as in this case, lived to tell the tale).

It's a very personal account - "A memoir of combat AND conscience". So nobody should be surprised if it isn't anything else, that is, more or less than that.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
I have to admit I was expecting non stop action with this book, which unfortunately fell flat on its face. If you like loads of action, this isn't the book for you. I felt as if the author was just trying to get the point across that not all of the ss were blood thirsty thugs, but well trained and equipped troops that could more than hold their own in a fight and that quite a few did not join the organisation because of the political rhetoric, but because they actually believed that communism was a serious threat not only to their country but Europe as a hole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Unfortunately my expectations of the book were not met. Wanted to know more about the Waffen SS as a criminal organisation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
I enjoyed this book, it gave a great insight to pre-war Germany and how very much Like the Anglo Saxon the German Saxon is, with reservations of course.
Points I picked up along the read was the almost constant singing by his fellows, and how so many of his comrades played musical instruments, how good for morale all that must have been. The 'routine in defence' seemed to evolve around the MG bunkers, the minefields and occasional patrolling. Life on the north of the Eastern front with total darkness can only be imagined, the only light for the six months of winter was what was reflected off the white snow. The death of his comrades was explicitly explained and sadness and depression naturally
followed each occasion. To read of the column of mules passing his position with the bodies of his comrades draped over them on the way to burial after an engagement with Ivan must have certainly been thought provoking for the author.
I did find the book a bit philosophical regarding the author's personal political feelings, it also went into ancient historical detail of the Goethe war that the British soldier wouldn't even tolerate to listen to. The description of the withdrawal from the East Front and the long march home via Sweden and Norway; the fatigue, sometimes despair, the almost starvation, falling asleep on the march, is so very well described. The move to the Western Front and the mood of the soldiers as they went by train through a bomb ravaged homeland can only be imagined as some of them gazed in anguish at there own home towns as they passed through and stared into empty shells of buildings and total darkness. And yet they as SS still had the fight within them to viciously attack the Americans in Alsace, only to be quite surprised in return by the ferociousness of the American Infantry. A good book a good read!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I chose this this rating as I thought the author could have put more into his narrative. I am not sure if he is being politically correct at times given the nature of the subject. However it is a really good read and I do so in two days. I was impressed with the way the story unfolded but there was a nagging boubt about the "denial" passages where he stated he had no idea about the general situation re SS contribution to the "darker side" of WW2. For me it was about the execptional long march and the stab in the back from Finland. I understand better now the war in that inhospitable region and also give credit to the tenacity of the SS in the march back to Germany through Finland and Norway. It made me smile at times in particular the chapter about the engagement on the Swedish border and the almost carnival approach the Swedes took to the unfolding battle across the river. History is tempered by time and for me Mr Voss has had to walk the tightrope between what the victors imposed as criminality and how he saw himself as a prisoner trying to escape that persecution or more accuratley prosecuction. I would agree not all SS soldiers were aware of the Einsatsgruppen commandos 100% but the evidence was certainly out there. Maybe fighting in the Arctic circle insulated the SS gebirgsjager from the vast majoirty of it.
However a good book, worth a read and if it is an honest account so much the better. Buy it and see!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2006
Decent book, which i found a eye opener to the Finish front and how the germans were froced to retreat. More factual than about soldiers minds and experinces. Having said that, it does give a insight to why so many young soldiers from all over Europe went to fight the Soviets with the SS. Plenty of romatic visions of 'Old Europe'.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2002
"Black Edelweiss" is one of the best memoirs to come out of WWII that this reviewer (a professional author and film researcher) has read and can be compared with "Saat in den Sturm" by Herbert Brunnegger (another "ordinary" Waffen-SS veteran's candid memoir, only available in German at the time of writing).
"Johann Voss" (pseudonym) decided to write a personal journal about his experiences of the pre-war years and the WWII Arctic and Western fronts while he was still a prisoner of war. He started writing in March 1945 and was basically finished in December 1946. This shows. The book is rich with fine details, strong images and emotions that can't be found in books written later, at least books that ring so true as "Black Edelweiss" does.
The author truly manages to communicate how he probes his own mind on the subjects of national socialism and the war, including the Holocaust. He does not realize the full extent of many things and sometimes speculates naively but "Johann Voss" is to be commended for having resisted the advice to rewrite his notes from today's perspective. His words from 1945-46 deserve to be read just as they were written. However, there are some chapters that lack a contemporary note or two - to avoid misunderstandings. The epilogue, written in today's world, could also have been a bit longer, describing e.g. the author's recent years and his current perspective on society in the Third Reich.
The Editor's introduction to the book provides a good review of previously published books from and about the "lower level" of the German armed forces (esp. from the ranks of the Waffen-SS).
"Black Edelweiss" is a superb individual-level companion to the best overview of the Waffen-SS (in particular SSTK) that I know: "Soldiers of Destruction" by Charles W. Sydnor.
11 Comment| 155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
Not to be bought if you are after details of battle as the author does not go through them in too much details, or in the amount of details some would expect. However a very interesting book for those like me who wondered how a kid ended up in teh Waffen SS, and his thoughts during the war.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)