Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2012
Read the Amazon book description and believe every word. This really is the ultimate book about Motorhead, written by Alan Burridge, the man who has lived and breathed Motorhead for oh so many years. Alan has been involved with the band for more years than any band member, other than Lemmy.
It's not the first book that Alan has written about Motorhead, but it is the best by a long way. It's packed with information, presented in a very readable style and with lots of very high quality photos, plus a few taken by friends and fans in the pre-digital age. I have been a fan of Motorhead since their first gig, at the Roundhouse in 1975, but this book has told me things I didn't know and shown me lots of photos I'd never before seen.
The book itself is of the highest quality, printed on good quality gloss paper and well bound. It even has the cover design embossed. Most impressive!
It may seem expensive, but you get what you pay for and with this book you get a book to be proud of.
Just one word of warning. It's very heavy, so try not to drop it on your toe.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
This book is the best book out there about the band Motorhead.
It gives an incredibly precise and complete description of the band from the beginning and up to today. The leader of the official motorhead fan-club "motorheadbangers" Mr. Alan Burridge is the author behind the book, and his genuine interest of the band becomes quite clear when you read "Live to Win". His knowledge is just outstanding!

The pictures on every page is fantastic and this brings the book to a higher level when reading. It's quite funny to see the pictures of the band-members from late 70's and early 80's, and if you have been following the band for some time you will have some fantastic time down memory lane!

As a Motorhead-fan, this is a product that i can't begin to explain how much i recommend it. Even for people who is just interrested in rock 'n' roll- this is a book that should be in the book shelf of eveyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I have in my trembling hands my very own copy of this precious lump of image intensive pages! Live To Win by Alan Burridge might be well be the most definitive collection of Motörhead memories that you are ever likely to see. It is is a weighty tome of some quality and for the Motörhead fan a veritable thrill ride of visual history. I'm delighted with it, make no mistake this is quite obviously a labour of love by Professör Motörhead himeself, Alan Burridge but as Motörheadbangers we can all bask in this

If you are in anyway excited by rock music culture and in particular Motörhead's history of extraordinary magnitude then celebrate with this. An old cliché but if there is one book about the band you are ever likely to indulge in, this is it. In a world of throwaway degradation this piece of magnificent memorabilia will outlive us all.

Live to Win!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This book is a superb and detailed history of Motörhead, written by 'Mr Motörhead' himself Alan Burridge. It is packed with high quality photographs. The book is incredibly well researched and full of little known facts, charting the struggles faced by the band in the early days and the career highs and lows. The fact that Motörhead are still a going concern today after almost 40 years, is testament to the belief and vision of Lemmy and his uncompromising view that he will play what he wants. Mr Burridge is the only real 'super fan' and he has compiled a superb book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book and recommend it anyone with even a passing interest in Motörhead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Personally I try not to buy actual books that take up loads of space any more and this is the reason why I never bought this until now.

So I finally went for it anyway and am very glad I did. It is one of the nicest books you will ever own in terms of design, layout and absolute quality.

The subject matter is obvious and there are many great, unseen pics and a year by year account of our heroes.

Well worth the dosh and one I will keep forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
A heart felt affection for all things motorhead is well conveyed in this book which is more of a discography/gigography than a biography. I don't feel that I really got to meet the characters or to know the band during my read. Having said that, it has whetted my appetite for more, maybe 'white line fever' next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
This book is a beautiful item in itself which reflects the quality of the photos inside the book... the edges are silver to match the Motorhead logo on the front. It arrived in perfect condition. It's full of images of stuff from each year of Motorhead up to 2010
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
As a devoted motorhead fan I think this book is fantastic!! The author has put his heart and soul into this book and uncovers stuff that even the most die hard fans might not know! Quite simply.....if your a fan....buy it now!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Great book, great photos, written by a man involved from the start. The only criticism from a personal point is that Alan Burridge did all the early fanzines and I would have liked more on the early years archive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Step forward Mr Burridge, Alan you have done a great job on producing this book, if you are a Motorhead fan you will love it, mine is been kept in a box so as to never damage it..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)