Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2014
Richard III: The King under the Car Park was just as interesting and informative as I expected. I particularly liked the organization of the book. It begins with general information about the Greyfriars Project, Richard III and Leicester and then moves to specifics. Other strengths are the writing style and the illustrations and photographs accompanying the text, many of which I had not seen previously on the Internet. I enjoyed the irony in Richard Buckley's emails to Dr. Jo Appleby and Dr. Turi King making it clear how little chance there was of finding the king's remains. Something else I really appreciated since I couldn't travel to the UK was the inclusion of John Aggs's illustrations of Richard III's last moments. Some of the illustrations I had seen on the Internet but others were new to me.

I can highly recommend this book to anyone interested in archeology in general and the discovery of the last Plantagenet king in particular.Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I have already read and reviewed Michael Jones & Philippa Langley's book "The King's Grave" which focusses on the historical and human interest aspects of the story. Well, this is the archaeologists' version which concentrates on the science. Don't be put off by this- it's a highly readable account aimed at the general reader, with excellent illustrations. Recommended.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Of all the books that have published on this tremendous find of Richard The Third,this is certainly the best!
A well written book,packed with plenty of detail and tremendous illustrations and photographs. It has encompassed the history,of the great man,as well as the details of the dig. The artists impressions of the area where he was laid to rest are wonderful.
Reading it made me very proud to live in Leicester.
I would recommend this inexpensive book to anyone with an interest in our heritage. Fantastic!!!!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
This is probably the definitive work about the excavations at Greyfriars, Leicester, written for the general reader by two of the lead archaeologists who oversaw the project, Mathew Morris and Richard Buckley. It begins with an overview of the life and times of King Richard III, his journey to Leicester, his final journey to the battle where he lost his life, the battle itself, his burial and his grave. I was particularly interested to read a translation of his epitaph, which I had not come across before, for, although his monument was destroyed at the Dissolution, a copy of this was made. The authors (writing in the third person) describe the layout of medieval Leicester and some of the relevant building. There then follows day by day details of the excavation itself and a description of the finds. Finally they deal with the identification of the skeleton which was believed to be that of the King and how it was confirmed that it was in fact he.
This is not a dry academic work but a lively and very well written account of the excavation and its background. It is refreshing to read that the authors state when there is uncertainty about their conclusions by using words such as 'possibly' or 'probably'.
The book is a large format paperback - the size of a couple of 'normal' paperbacks - and of sixty five pages. The book is very well illustrated indeed and its size make the illustrations particularly information and clear. All of these illustrations are in colour where possible and include photographs, maps, plans, old prints and, what are particularly attractive, reconstructive drawings of medieval Leicester, the Friary, and even the King's possible monument.
Pity about the facial reconstruction on the near to the end page: I am very sceptical about this procedure as we cannot know what Richard's hair, eyes, nose, ears, lips etc. were really like. Good protruding lower jaw however!
An excellent description of the excavation and its background; this is the book to buy if you are interested in this subject.
44 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Disappointing. Lots of unwanted information about medieval Leicester with only a peripheral relevance to Richard III, and the pamphlet (not a book) is published in a large floppy format which makes it hard to read and slides off your knees if you put it down. Not good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Brilliant book about the search for the body of Richard 111 and the complexities of the dig. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
As an archaeologist and having read many articles and attended lectures I wanted a better overview of the excavations etc which is what this short book has provided. I look forward to the more detailed report in due course.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
This is a shortish, but very informative book. It is clear about known and verifiable information/facts, and careful about those that are uncertain. In other words, it is academic in its approach, as one would expect from a university publication. Having said that, it wears its academia fairly lightly, making it easy to read and a cracking story. One cannot deny that the archeologists got very lucky on this dig, but they are also professionals - to a large extent, they made their own luck and this book tells how. Well worth a read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
I've read several accounts of the discovery of Richard III's remains, and for my money this one, written by two of the archaeologists who found him, is easily the best. It is authoritative, detailed and beautifully illustrated, but wisely (I think) does not seek to judge Richard or claim he was any better than he was.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
Clear, concise and informative, with a wonderful insight into medieval Leicester from two of the top archaeologists in their field. This book is as factual account as is possible and displays a healthy lack of mystical opinions about Richard 111.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)