Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2017
A tale well told,pulling together historical fact with a strong cast of characters engaged in the story of the 'glorious ninth'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Fascinating story, beautifully written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
The Eagle Has Fallen' is a saga of the far reaching influence and power of ancient Rome.
Brian Young presents a credible plot with a plausible hypothesis of an enduring historical mystery.
The narrative is presented as a fast moving tale that incorporates various themes including history, ancient politics, military stratagems, intrigue, adventure and romance.
The story is well told, easily read and worth reading.

(5 Stars)

D. McMahon
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
I can only award this novel three stars due to deflated expectation. This was due to the marketing of the book claiming here was the ultimate story of the enigma of the Ninth Hispania, I simply was not convinced.

The author shows impressive knowledge of the period and the legions in the appendices, however this is only partially is revealed in the novel.

Overall the plot is fast paced and kept me reading, only to be stifled by scenes and characters that stretched credulity and left me feeling frustrated.

I cannot accept several main characters would have survived the massacre of the Ninth, if it ever happened. Further, the legate character was two dimensional. There was no mention of the senior tribune or camp prefect, senior officers of any legion, present at the battle or remaining at the fortress of the future York.

The author seems to imply the small cavalry formations attached to a legion were the only mounted troops. What of the four or five hundred strong auxiliary wings and infantry cohorts that would have been in a supporting role?

There is also some confusion regarding the medical services. A Medicus or senior doctor would be in overall charge, supported by male nurses or capsarii who could be legionaries with special training. Orderlies could have been civilians or slaves. The Medicus may have held a similar rank to a centurion.

Finally, I was unclear how many cohorts actually marched north to fight the barbarian Brigantes, three then four were mentioned. I find it difficult to believe such a small detachment of no more than two thousand legionaries and officers would have advanced north without at least as many auxiliaries in support.

Where were the other cohorts? One is stated as remaining at the fortress of Eboracum, the others must have been on detached duties. No mention is made of the missing cohorts in the novel, although research suggests they may have been in Holland or on the Rhine frontier.

The power struggle in Rome and accession of Hadrian as emperor was vividly described, with Attianus as the clear villain, the prefect of the Praetorian Guard. The early stages of the rising of the Brigantes and attacks on isolated Roman units was also highly readable.

However, overall, a flawed story and a missed opportunity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Having grown up intrigued by the mystery of the ninth legion I was keen to read a modern take on it and found this very readable and informative, especially with the appendix. At one stage it did feel rather like the Titanic! but that was unavoidable given the subject. The switch from Rome to Antioch to York was very effective and gave it a fast pace. It is a fiction read but I would definitely recommend it, especially to anyone who thinks they have all the answers!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Enjoyable read. Only wish there was a sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Unfortunately it did not take me long to finish this riveting read. Now I have to search for another page-turner which THE EAGLE HAS FALLEN proved to be. The author was able to easily juxtapose the atmosphere in northern Britain along with that of Antioch and Rome itself. This was done effortlessly and seamlessly. One could easily have become annoyed at the switching back and forth, but this was so easily done and as you read on it kept you gripped as to what would be on the next page.

I hope the author plans to use his literary skills and knowledge of history towards another book. The last time I read anything as good was Robert Harris' trilogy on Rome.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
A thrilling cavalry charge of a read, taking you into battle with a fight for loyalties, romance and betrayals. A history lesson like no other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2013
The Eagle of the Ninth is one of those stories that continues to fascinate - and this is a neat attempt to blend the story of the roman empire at the time and to link the actions of the Emperor Hadrian to what happened to the Ninth legion. The story is well done but not reaching the gut wrenching violence of Anthony Riches or Simon Scarrow. The politics of the empire are also well mixed into the story and the love interest is beyond the usual with both main characters developed well - especially her previous occupation...
So, overall a good story and the pesky Brits come across well so I do wonder if there is a series in the offing .. well worth reading
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
I finished reading this excellent novel very recently. I was very pleasantly surprised by everything about this book and I remain somewhat confused why so little noise it has produced across the wider communications spectrum.

In short, the book covers the period from the death of the Emperor Trajan and the first couple of years of the reign of Hadrian. The narrative covers the expanse of the Roman Empire from Syria to Rome and onto the Northern Border of the Empire in Britain. The Author is to roundly commended for managing to make what could have been episodic and clunky run extremely smoothly, so smoothly in fact I very nearly forgot that the story had once again moved locations on a number of occasions.

I cannot but heartily recommend this book to anyone interested in the historical fiction, especially Roman Military. Anyone who enjoys the novels of Simon Scarrow will absolutely love this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)