Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 November 2012
Another sub-title for this book could be "The Alternative to Financial Doping" because this is essentially the essence of the Wenger Code: good management, financial prudence, nurturing young talent, excellent training and fitness, strict diets and state-of-the-art medical facilities.
In the early years of his Arsenal career the Wenger Code brought Arsene Wenger almost instant success because his ideas and methods were years ahead of his counterparts in English football. Alas the other teams quickly copied Wenger's methods and some leap-frogged Arsenal with the arrival of sugar-daddy owners from Russia, America and the Middle East.
Wenger and Arsenal are constantly reminded that they haven't won any silverware for seven seasons but the playing field is not even at the top of the Premier League and Arsenal and the Wenger Code are struggling to compete with the financially doped clubs that don't need to balance their books.
As an Arsenal fan I knew all of the above before I bought this book but I wanted to hear an alternative view on where Arsenal have been recently and where they are headed. Richard Evans does a good job of answering these points and looks at Arsenal's recent failings in some detail.
Any fan that has followed Arsenal over the last couple of seasons will be aware of how close they came to success and seeing it analysed in print doesn't make it any less painful. However it does help to have the reasons for these failing explained, especially when bad luck and dodgy refereeing play a major part in the plot.
Evans is clearly pro-Wenger but not blind to Arsene faults. He believes, like Wenger, that Arsenal are very close to success. We may find that hard to see after some of their recent performances but there's still a long way to go this season before we'll know if the Wenger Code can triumph again.
This is a good read for Arsenal fans but also for those with a passing interest in the game (Spurs fans, for example!).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2012
A really excellent book I can't believe someone has given this book a 1-star review. It can only have been written by a Spud or by a competitor because this really is a very good piece of work.As a long-time Arsenal fan I've been as frustrated as the next supporter about the lack of silverware and whilst The Wenger Code doesn't relieve those feelings is does go some way towards explaining why Arsenal find themselves in this situation. The author concentrates on the last two seasons because the club was very close to winning something again. Important matches, such as the 4-4 draw at Newcastle, are looked at in detail because the scorelines alone don't always tell the story of such afternoons.What of the future? Will The Wenger Code surivive the age of the oligarch? This is the subtitle to the book and and question which the future will answer and that FFP may determine.So, is this book 1-star or 5-star material? I believe it's the latter but don't take my word for it. Buy a copy and make up your own mind. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2012
This is a stylish and different take on the situation Arsenal find themselves in, a likened to purgatory by some Arsenal fans.
Evans' belief that Arsenal risk becoming a feeder club is not an original one, but he elegantly sums up the frustrations of the last couple of seasons, pointing out just how close they came to winning competitions in the face of serious setbacks.
Focusing on the 4-4 draw at Newcastle, one of the most traumatic results for Arsenal fans in recent seasons, Evans' take is strangely therapeutic.
This is a cut above the average football read and even if the conclusions aren't rose-tinted, I felt better for reading it. An ideal present for an Arsenal fan feeling a bit bruised by the last two seasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2013
I was given this book as a gift and even thought the cover alone was effortlessly 'Arsenal' (Stylish and understated).

This book is a superb and delicate football book well worth reading for the casual and serious fan - both will relish it in different ways. Not only does Evans get under the skin of the club, he really obviously knows Wenger (I think they must be personal friends) and 'gets' this quite elusive figure's approach and philosophy.

This book makes even more sense in the light of the recent transfer window, because the chapters explore exactly what went on in the squad in 2011-12, and into the 2012-13 season also. It has depth and offers utter reader enjoyment. Huge backing from me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2012
I'm not a fan of long reviews so I'll get straight to the point: The Wenger Code is a great book; it's written for Gooners by a Gooner; it's bang up to date and even discusses the departure of Van Persie and the opening games of this season. I loved it, you'll love it, go buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2013
If you love Arsenal, love reading about Arsenal and, like me, wonder how Arsenal have failed to win a trophy for eight seasons then this may be just the book for you. Evans, a self-confessed Gooner, makes no apologies for his red-and-white tinted view of the world but he does express some interesting opinions and a few reasons why Arsenal have remained pot-less for so long. If you've not read The Wenger Code then I suggest you start dropping a few hints so that it appears under your tree this Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2013
the amount of transposed text, repeated sentences, half-sentences and truncated paragraphs really detract from the book. Too often I found myself re-reading paragraphs due to the number of typographical errors contained in this book.

The author should have taken the time out and asked someone to proofread the manuscript or Amazon should institute some form of quality control so the buyer doesn't end up paying for a book that sometimes resembles alpahbet soup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2016
excellent read well researched , and a different take on the subject of Arsene Wenger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2013
Bought this book for my husband who is an avid Arsenal fan. He thought it was very well written and enjoyed it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2013
wENGER IS A OLNE OFF INDIVIDUAL THAT SHOWS HIS DEDICATION AND LOVE FOR THE GAME OF FOOTBALL. hE WILL BE HARD TO FOLLOW AS THE MANAGER OF THE GOONERS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)