Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2014
I'm really delighted with this new cookbook from my local food mecca Brixton Village. The book & recipes really reflect the upbeat diversity of Brixton Village, and the passion of the chefs in the many small, specialist restaurants that line the walkways. It's also beautifully illustrated so very pleasing to browse, a bit like the market itself.

I've found the recipes I've used so far easy to follow with delicious results. I didn't even know there was such a thing as Japanese tapas, so Okan's otsumami section is a revelation - easy-to-find ingredients combined to make dishes I never would have thought of that have had my friends begging for more! Looking forward to Kaosarn's moo-ping - thai pork skewers with a kick...

It's a real treat to have a book with such a range of distinctive styles that tie together into a beautiful whole.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Having bought a copy of Miss South's Recipes from Brixton Village a while ago, and wishing to buy another copy for a friend, I was taken aback by the negative reviews of the book on the Amazon website. It seems to me that the book does exactly what the blackboard style cover promises. This is, in part, a social and cultural document from and about real people. It is not a vanity project by a celebrity chef.
Now, out here in the sticks we many not be able to get some of the more exotic ingredients but Miss South often includes options that we can access. I could get a real sense of the various communities in Brixton from this book and - most importantly - trying my hand at some of the recipes, I found that Miss South's spelling out of ingredients and methods worked admirably; you can't say that about the vague and/or inaccurate instructions in many other cookbooks. I still may not know what alligator peppers are, but, as just one example, the recipe for the Columbian Slow-Cooked Pork worked an absolute treat.
The layout of the book is simple and wholly effective for what is a functional tool. No need for glossy, gastro-porn colour photographs, because, unlike one of the snotty reviews said, myself and friends thought that the deliberately modest illustrations by Kaylene Alder were wholly appropriate to the ethos of the book as a whole. I think that Miss South and Kitchen Press are to be commended on the sheer straightforwardness of this publication.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that I am lucky enough to have known Miss South for a while now and have followed her blog for some time. So I bought this book with full confidence that it would be just like her blog - beautiful recipes, with simple and easy to follow directions.

However, even with my high expectations, I was blown away. You know those gorgeous, glossy recipe books that you buy and leave on your coffee table, never to be used? This is not one of them. This is a book you need to keep in your kitchen for easy reference - get used to the idea it will soon be stained and marked, just like a good recipe book should be!

The illustrations are lovely - charming, without being twee. The recipes themselves are so varied and cover all bases, from cookies to cocktails to unusual cuts of meat. Lots of vegetarian and some vegan options, which is great. I'm a terrible, but enthusiastic cook so I need clear, step by step instructions which Miss South does really well.

Aside from all of the above, this is really educational book, especially when dealing with cuisines that aren't familiar to a lot of people. We can probably all cook a decent Thai curry, but what about Jamaican rice and beans? Japanese cabbage pancakes? Trinidadian curried crab? Colombian slow cooked pork? The notes on where to buy the ingredients in Brixton are so helpful and there are alternative substitution suggestions for a lot of items.

Don't worry though, for every Pomegranate Glazed Land Snails recipe there is a 4 ingredient Barbecue Ribs recipe - as I said, I am a TERRIBLE cook, but I can see myself trying a lot of these recipes and Miss South's instructions are so straightforward I don't think my complete lack of talent in the kitchen will hold me back.

In case I wasn't clear, I love this book. It perfectly showcases the flavours, passions and cultures that make up Brixton Market and I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
A beautifully illustrated and lovingly crafted book. The diversity of the flavours and cultures that Brixton is famous for are brought together in a selection of carefully chosen and easy to follow recipes. The fact that some of the the Traders have donated some their own secret recipes makes this even more special. Would love a follow up volume!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Brilliantly written, inspirational tasty glimpse of the real Brixton Village and your own personal collection of recipes in its aromatic mix of great food, traders and people - a great read, beautifully illustrated, packed full of an eclectic mix of recipes, so cooking from this book at home is just like being there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
My daughter who lives in Brixton and loves the market and buying and eating everything locally sourced loved her present .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
This is a rather two dimensional book. The book really doesn't do the plethora of establishments any favours. Recipe wise, it's an unfortunate selection that doesn't even graze the surface of what you'd hope to find from your favourite Brixton restaurants.
The overall production is cheap and not worth the RRP. Something beautiful and individual could have been created but instead you're left with a book filled with illustrations that appear to have been stolen from a government sex education book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Very goodi
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Massively disappointing - waste of my money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)