Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
495
4.3 out of 5 stars
Invasion
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 January 2017
Not a bad story at all. Set in 2029, it throws up the spectre of a possible future ruled by strict Muslim Sharia Law and it is well thought out if somewhat lacking in technical knowledge. The Normans were the last race to successfully invade Britain and I tend to think, even in the light of our currently reduced military status, that an invading army would have a much tougher time of it than depicted here.
However that is not to detract from a well-written book that holds the attention and fires the imagination. It does paint an unremittingly gloomy picture of life 200 years hence when the country still suffers beneath the shackles of hard line Muslim rule but throws in a spark of hope with the beginnings of a rebellion against the Caliphate.
I rather liked the idea of a new Hadrian's Wall to keep the marauding Muslim army out of Scotland. Shades of the Roman Empire being shut out by the troublesome Picts.
Worth four stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
The premise of this story was very interesting. Does it reflect the author's beliefs? That Europe is under threat from Islam? Or is it merely an idea for a book? I don't know but it ,ales for one hell of a story. One thought which came to me while reading it was that with a it of slimming down and simplifying it would make a good radio play (for those people who have knowledge of such things, for those who do not, give them a try). Any way I enjoyed it in spite of all the military stuff. Good story, kept me reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Interesting book well developed and building on many people's current concerns. The author has researched the areas well and that helps to build the credibility of the story. Sadly, he has concluded it in a manner that precludes further development which could have been very interesting. Thank you. I enjoyed it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
but not too sure about the future geo- political background. IS has taken over N Africa and the Middle East and a 'reverse' crusade is called. Europe will fall because of its liberal sentimental treatment of immigrants etc
More discussion of the background would move this into a different class. At the moment it's a quick action adventure, nothing wrong with that if that's what you're after
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
A very interesting scenario illustrating a situation that whilst hopefully will never occur, but which gives food for thought with regards to what could happen if governments fail to act and take care of our national security. A well written book where the pace is constant and kept me engrossed. It made me think and ask the question could the scenario, or something lime it, actually happen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
A great read... the author sucks the reader into several plot lines to the point where you will want to read just one more chapter(some awkward looks at sports day from the other parents). The timeframe and plot are incredibly relevant given the current political climate and i found myself become more and more involved in hoping the main characters found a way only to see real life isnt so rosey. To say i felt numbed by the ending is perhaps an exageration but the writer does a great job of delivering a memorable end... although a few changes would have allowed for a follow up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Well written and worryingly a potential future for us all if the west continues to ignore the warning signs. Recommend reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
A well written novel which makes one wonder, could this ever happen? But enough of those thoughts, and I really enjoyed reading it, every scene was explained in detail but not in monotonous fashion. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
Thoroughly enjoyable read this one. The story is set in the future and involves IS, who are now an established state, invading europe in a planned and coordinated attack catching them unaware. The story moves between the view from the side of the British government and its residents, and that of the IS soldiers and hierarchy. Its a really interesting read and not as convoluted as I thought it would be. Its quite a long book but it flowed really well and held my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
A very realistic look into the near future. With what is happening at the moment to Europe it is a bit scary and very believable. Politicians should be made to read this book and comment. Well worth reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

War With Russia
£5.99
Empty World
£6.80

Need customer service? Click here