Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2013
Certain sports inspire great writing. For example cricket and mountaineering. Others fail to achieve this consistency, despite the overwhelming popularity of the sport in question. Football most obviously fits this bill, though there have been some notable exceptions of late. This book is a collection of original articles that really hit the spot. Articles really well written, interesting and involving, critical and analytical. At a time when most of the ever increasing number of cycling magazines are little more than marketing exercises, this book really shows that some of the very best writers are now fully involved with cycling. The opening article, twenty eight pages by William Fotheringham on Bradley Wiggins, is really good journalism and those that follow keep up the standard. I believe this is the first of an on-going series; if that is so we are in for a regular treat. As I throw down yet another magazine full of latest ways to spend money on cycling stuff I really look forward to the following editions of this anthology. It brings back the days when the likes of J.B. Wadley could be read and enjoyed at weekly and monthly intervals in 'Cycling' and 'Sporting. Cyclist', days that seemed to be gone long ago. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 4 December 2012
Just to be clear, I initially ordered this book on Amazon only to be told by the publishers that Amazon wouldn't be selling it so I bought it direct from them (keeps the profits in house, cycling anthology.com or prendas.co.uk). Now I notice Amazon say the volume isn't available from them so I expect this review will disappear eventually but until it does can I ask you please to get a copy if you are interested in cycling or good sports journalism or perhaps both, because if you are it fits the bill. It is a collection of essays from prominent cycling journalists, writers and even professional cyclists themselves (David Millar writes in this edition) and is the first volume of what is hoped to become a regular series. It is a smashing little book, it's presence has never been more vital and it proves beyond doubt that in the past boxing and cricket have arguably been seen as the sports with the best writers and now cycling can be added to this list.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
For everyone who loves cycling this will be great reading. A collection of different perspectives that offer a richly different perspective on current issues in the sport. reall enjoyed it! Prendas are excellent suppliers too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Simply put this is an excellent collection of cycling literature and reportage. The pieces are intelligent, interesting, sometimes challenging and always written with a love and passion for the sport. Please hunt out Prendas Cyclismo and get a copy for the cyclist in your life!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
An enjoyable read (apart from the Voeckler piece, one of the most charismatic racers in the world, not that you'd know it from the very short, abrubtly ended piece about him) and I'll be buying the next one. But unless a Kindle edition is offered that'll be it for me. I've got limited space for books these days and tend to purchase on Kindle when offered. I don't want it to be cheaper than the paperback, I enjoyed it enough to pay a premium for it even, but to not even offer the option in a periodical starting in 2013 is pretty poor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
What a cracking little book this is. Every piece is a succulent indulgence and just right with a cup of tea while sitting in your favourite comfy chair. Cannot wait for Volume 2. Hats off to all involved. Very good indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Now that cycling is the Next Big Thing you will have noticed bookshop shelves groaning with hastily produced books, packed with photos and very little time or effort spent on the content. This collection is very different. Reading this you feel you are getting an insight into the sport by people who know what they are talking about. I am already looking forward to volume 2. I have cancelled my subscription to a cycling magazine (which was starting to churn stuff out) and will instead spend the money on this series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Great collection of short stories. An easy book to pick up at intervals. The short essay format suits my "dip in, dip out" style of reading. The essays are all well written and informative
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Bought as a Christmas present for our racing cyclist son-in-law and he was delighted with it. Vols 2 & 3 were bought separately by othe member of the family and were received with equal enthusiasm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I hope this series continues. Some excellent essays included here with insight from both lovers of the sport, journos and those inside the peloton themselves. Looking forward to volume two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)