Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2007
Well after searching for adventure motorcycle books , i came across this one. A fantastic tale of an epic journey from London to Cape Town by two extraordinary ladies on a Panther motorcycle with sidecar & trailer ! At a time when women sat at home & knew their place ,it makes this story all the more amazing, their journey across the sahara sums this tale up . When modern travellers are worried if they get no mobile phone signal these two women showed just what real adventure travel was.Highly recommended , a damn good stiff upper lip , lets make a carburettor needle out of an old stick type of boys (womens ?)own yarn.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
For anybody interested in motorbike travel you should find this a detailed and heroic travel book, although I suspect the author has barely
scratched the surface of what these young women went through, it out lines a different age and culture , barley recognisable from todays comfort zone of getting around, and at a time when "Ladies" just did,not do this sort of caper .They take a New Panther motorcycle and side car plus a trailor ,and with out any real idea of what lays ahead, and against the advice of just about everybody set off, from London to the Cape. Its a good read ,I would think if you were not all that keen on bikes you would still enjoy this book, and I would recommend it .
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
Forget Ewan & Charlie with their support crews researchers and the rest.What these girls did unsupported was incredible. If you like true adventure, even if you don't like bikes, buy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2008
Wow. These gals were tough! An epic trek from the Home Counties to South Africa in the 1930's, displaying real ingenuity and pluck. An excellent read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
a great read. the story of how terese wallach and her friend florence blenkiron travelled the length of africa on a panther motorcycle with sidecar and trailer.a real boy's own adventure only it involves 2 women,it says something about thier adventureous spirit in the 1930s.a book i really recommend reading,whether your interest is motorcycles,travel or both. i read it in a couple of days.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
I have been an avid reader of motorcycle adventure for more years than I dare to recount, so when I saw this book 'recommended for you,' I thought it deserved a look. The journey undertaken by Theresa and 'Blenk' down the length of Africa is astounding for many reasons. To leave the 'normal' world far behind and travel accross deserts and some of the most inhospitible terrain in the world, in 1935, on an untested single cylinder motorcycle and sidecar, pulling an enormous trailer, with zero backup, would take some guts today never mind back then. But our two intrepid lady travellers faced the hardship, long hours, mechanical breakdowns, language barriers and countless difficulties with determination and a smile. These two women were acomplished motorcycle travellers and racers, so knew how to handle their machines, but that fact takes nothing away from this fantastic adventure. The book is well named and equally well written and, like all good books, ends with a somewhat sobering sting in the tail!
Highly reccomended, one of the best travel books ever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
Splendid Book, in Combination with the DVD/VHS you take part of this amazing Adventure of two Ladies on their very special journey overland from london to Cape Town by a PANTHER Motorcycle, pulling a trailer to camp on. No Roads 1935, no back up and no compass!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
This is simpy a jaw-dropping adventure tale which covers an amazing journey across Africa on a Panther motorcycle with sidecar and trailer in the 1930's. The two women display incredible courage and determination, and cope with the dangers and difficulties with grit and a good deal of humour. It makes other more contemporary accounts of mortorcycle travel seem like joy rides.
My only criticism is that on occasions the the books suffers from some garbled sentences, but given that it was put together from notes and other sources this does not detract from the sheer magnitude of Teresa and Blenks's journey. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this - and recceomend it highly to anyone interested in travel writing, motorcycle journeys, or indeed anyone wanting to be inspired! Excellent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Another amazing motorcycle adventure by two bonkers ladies. Not quite as gripping as The Shimmering Dream, but worth a read anyway to glean some insight into the politics of the British bike industry back then. Hard to believe that two ladies rode a sidecar through the Sahara, found a village called Bulawyo , reached their destination then never spoke again.....weird.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
When I was researching motorcycling adventures to read, I was really delighted to come up with some absolute gems, this being one of them. Judging by these two women, there are probably a lot more spirited women out there that we just haven't heard about. What they went through was unbelievably tough, but they never gave up, with grit and determination that defies imagination. It is almost a shame that we now live in a world of instant & constant communication because it would be difficult to dare to set off on such an adventure and leave all that behind - just to see if we could do it. The book is written from Theresa Wallach's diaries, so it is not "well written" as such because she didn't return home and then re-write the diaries as a book. As a result, there is quite a lot of repetition of descriptions, but this doesn't detract from the story. It is unfortunate that her companion didn't also keep diaries.
If you are at all interested in travel adventures, & in particular motorcycling adventures, don't miss this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse