Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2011
This is a short book compared to others illustrated by Ingpen , but absolutely BEAUTIFUL.Stunning illustrations .gorgeous poem for young and old .
I am buying it for all my friends children and my nieces as it is a classic....to be read with a hot chocolate late on Christmas Eve
which will put everyone in the spirit. the only thing that would have made it better would have been a santa in green( not coca cola red)
which would have lent itself perfectly to this magical poem.
Buy it , its a bit of magic!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Although Robert Ingpen is an excellant artist, this version of The Night Before Christmas was disappointing in that I was hoping for more colour, detail, and Christmas magic. There was no variety in the illustrations, and especially missing, was the cosiness of Christmas Eve within the family home. I really loved the first full page colour illustration of the face of the mouse peeping through the holly, but the rest of the paintings were very samey. One of the double page pictures of the outside of the home missed out the out-buildings, etc. that surrounded it in the previous drawings, so that it looked even more cold and isolated. This is a good sized book, but I have since found a more beautiful little book which seems bigger because it does have so much variety, lovely outdoor scenes, cosy indoor ones, all with lots of interesting detail, etc. What I decided to do was research all the different copies of this poem I can, forming a small collection. This works very well, because being a fairly short poem, I can look through all the books, gleaning the best of all of them!
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
We got this for our daughters first Christmas as we want to start a little family tradition of reading this on Christmas Eve as her bedtime story! Beautifully illustrated and a really lovely story! Would really recommend it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
A lovely book, with traditional pictures. This is a poem that has been read to all of my grandchildren on Christmas Eve, before bed, and has become a tradition (along with the Christmas pyjamas) in their families. This new purchase is for the latest addition and so the story continues and a new tradition starts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
This is a lovely book - beautifully illustrated and, of course, Moore's poem is a classic. A magical read for children on Christmas Eve.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
The American Classic written by Clement C Moore.
Well illustrated by Robert Ingpen.
The really isn't any thing else to say.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
The font is a little large for my liking, but I'm probably just being picky. Would probably suit people with small children who would like to read along over your shoulder. The illustrations are gorgeous as ever. Love Robert Ingpen's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
There are countless versions of this book on offer, and I took a long time selecting this one. It's beautiful hardback with more old fashioned feel and text plus delightful illustrations. I'm hoping the reading of this to our new daughter will become a family Christmas tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
This really is a lovely book which you can read to your children before christmas year after year. THe pictures are lovely and the book itself is a quality hardback that you'll just enjoy picking up again and again. Would defiant;ey recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
A stunning book, good quality with beautiful traditional pictures. We bought it for our friends baby for his first Chistmas and his Mum loved it so much it made her cry. I wiould recommend this book to everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.