Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2011
As an underground post observer from 1971 to 1987 I am delighted with this excellent book. It is a quality production and I can only imagine the work that has gone into compiling this worthy tribute to the Royal Observer Corps. In true ROC tradition I set about trying to find errors but, if there are any, they have eluded me. I thoroughly recommend this book and its insight into truly dangerous times that few knew anything about.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
Sometimes books on specialist areas can be a bit dull with long narratives to read, slavishly going through detail in chronological order, and occasional black and white photos. But I was pleasantly surprised that this book is beautifully printed with lots of colour photos, and the text is concise, well written and structured. It's a book you can read from cover to cover, or just dip into as interest takes you. Highly recommended whether you're already knowledgeable on the subject or not.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
Although not a former observer myself, I am very familiar with the ROC underground posts having conducted a photographic survey of all 1563 of them between 1997 - 2004. For anyone with an interest in the ROC post-WW2 this book is an absolute must. Well researched, crammed with photographs most of which are in colour. As well as a detailed history of the ROCs nuclear role there are descriptions with photographs of all the post instruments and a chapter on restored posts which have sprung up all over the country in recent years. As a post owner myself I find myself referring to this book on an almost daily basis. If the print quality wasn't so good it would be worn out already! Put a copy in your basket now, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Great book, well worth the money.
Read this almost entirely in one evening. Sometimes books such as this can be fairly dull, not this one. Packed with fact after fact, glorious picture after glorious picture. Well written, by an author who clearly knows the subject, in a very readable style, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Buy this book, if you are like me, having an interest in Cold War structures (either above, or below ground!!), you will not be disappointed in any way.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
This is a very readable, beautifully illustrated history of ROC posts that covers the reason for building them, their design, how they were built, how they were manned and how drills were run. Rich in detail, the book provides a vivid picture of what these places were like. It also provides a quick factual (not political) account of the 'attacks' made on these places by some antinuclear campaigners. It would have been interesting to read something from their point of view in this section (as attacking a purely defensive, unarmed measuring post seems an odd thing to do). Having described the posts in their heyday, the book then covers decommissioning and the subsequent fates of a selection of posts, including ruination, preservation and inspired re-purposing. If you like in-depth descriptions of small subjects, you will like this book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Highly informative book about the role of the R.O.C. in the Cold War years. Excellent photographs and descriptions of posts and monitoring equipment
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
This must be the definitive guide to the ROC ever published as it covers everything you can imagine.
Complimented with great photographs & informative text.
Well done Mark Dalton, excellant
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
As my father was in the ROC it was a great trip down memory lane. He was really pleased with the detail and photographic contents. An excellent book of some long forgotten history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
Great little book to read very informative it's a shame that sadberge post has been demolished it was only a short walk from where I live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Enjoyed by the recipient. Few books available on this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)