Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2012
I've been into old war history for years,probably stemming from my father who was an RAF pilot in the last war and being ex-forces myself and my son current forces.I'm especially interested in the many concrete structures around the country,so this book was a must.
Very interesting..if you are into this sort of thing,and fascinating when you realise how close some of them are,i myself passed some regularly with not that much knowledge.
specialised book so is a little expensive as will not sell to a mass market,but that's just what you have to pay
Folley books who it came from were brilliant,especially after the regular problems we have with couriers not trying to look for our house properly(we are awkward to find,but not impossible!!) Folley's kept us up to date with everything,and if I am ever near to them,will pop in.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
A very informative book which gives the reader a fasinating insight into structures i was never aware of.
Profusially illustrated with first class photographs from the period as well as current ones.
A great historical record that sadly shows places that may be lost forever.
Highly recommended
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
An excellent history of the major undergrund factories and munitions bunkers of the Second World War; very well written with plenty of personality and lively anecdotes - came alive!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
This is a truly excellent book which is a must for all interested in the topic. The photographs and text are just magnificent.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
If your interest is underground / WW11 its the best book out there. The txt gives you all the detail you need and a lot of thought has gone into what pictures have gone into the book. I have a large collection of books and this would be in the top five along with bath Stone quarries Enough Said !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
The level of detail is huge, probably reflecting the author's long interest with the subject. It is perfectly readable, but the overall interest and messages do get submerged with the phenomenal level of detail. If you're interested in the difference between 'Entrance #1' and 'Entrance #2' to a bunker, then this is for you 100%. Otherwise, caveat emptor.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
A comprehensive look at the sub surface structures or underground conversions built for or during the second world war. The photography is excellent - much of it taken in what must have been very challenging circumstances and also now unrepeatable. Where these structures now lie derelict, vandalised or sealed this is the next best thing to a personal visit and the book cannot be recommended highly enough for anyone with in interest in this era. Even if you don't have a specific interest, the photography and site stories will surely be of interest. A real gem of a book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Facinating and full of interest.( 5 star.) I would recomend it to any historian.Full of interesting places in Great Btritton
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
A must for anyone interested in the second world war and wanting to find out secrets of that time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)