Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2017
Great Read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
ALL RIGHT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
As an everton supporter really enjoyed the great man's autobiography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Excellent read, Excellent goalkeeper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
An honest, no frills, warts and all straight talking review of his life in and out of football the book totally sums up the man. Southall holds nothing back and what comes through is his passion for the game and for doing the right things in life as is evidenced by the work he now carries out with troubled young people.

The book paints a vivid picture of football before the formation of the Premier League and how a talented youngster from a footballing backwater fought his way through all the barriers and obstacles placed before him and got to the top.

An invigorating and inspiring read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
let me start by sayin big nev is my goalkeepin hero so maybe i'm a bit biased.this book is not your usual 80's footballer tale of drink, woman and amusing anicdotes about puttin deep heatb in his teams jockstraps,theres no tales of boozy nights out,nevs teetotal but in his book nev shows us what made him tick,what drove him too be the best keeper in the world and the sacrafices he made to achive that.its an honest engaging story of his career and lets you get too known the real nevville southall dispelling a few myths on the way.you come away feeling you KNOW nev and understand his eccentricatis,hes just a normal guy with amazing talent doin what he loved,playin football,doin his best too be normal in the crazy world of football stardom.a great football book not just for everton fans,a must read for all goalkeepers and a wellcome change from most 80s football autobiographys.reading this made me an even bigger BIG NEV fan.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Story of a man who would have worth 10-15 millions in todays transfer market. Great story who was born in the right generation. Honest stor y of a great player
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
The Binman Chronicles is an excellent book about an extra-special goalkeeper. The opening chapters are particularly interesting and give a real insight into Southall's life before he made it as a professional footballer. A couple of the reviews I have read state that some of the stories from the Welshman's life are glossed over and lack detail. There's certainly something in this, but then, in order to chronicle all the incidents in Southall's fascinating life, co-author Corbett would have needed twice as many pages. Really well written; not as good as the goalie himself, but how could it be? Check out the special editions too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I have always been an Everton supporter. I have several other Books written by the Players and reading them all I feel that I
know them personally. Neville is a funny guy and I reading his Book I feel as if he is sitting next to me and talking to me about his life. G R E A T.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
Neville Southall: The Binman Chronicles
"The many faces of a football great - revealed for the first time." It is exactly these words at the back of the book, in combination with a hilarious and straight-talking radio interview, which tempted me into reading this book.

Southall, the legendary Everton and Wales Goalkeeper, has kept himself to himself after retirement. This is bucking the trend. In today's game, players seem to release autobiography's the minute they retire from the game or, worse still, before they've barely started and actually achieved anything. Southall has done something completely different: he gives a compelling insight into an utterly formidable career after achieving the many landmarks that has characterised his personal, footballing and post footballing career.

Whilst I may be an avid Everton fan, I am still as cautious as anyone in picking up a footballer's autobiography. So regularly they are boring, long-winded and purely a money making exercise. I feel this is very different for Southall: he is a man with a point to prove.

The Binman Chronicles outlines the quite extraordinary story of Southall's highly successful career as a Goalkeeper playing at the highest level of the national and international game. The young man from Llandudno (a small coastal town in Wales apparently) transforms from a binman waking up at 0430 to supplement his paltry income to the most formidable goalkeeper in the English game to a man dedicating his life to dealing with the disengaged youths in Kent. It should be clear that is by no means a normal football autobiography.

One of the real treats served up in this book is Southall's take on Everton's European hopes being cruelly taken away from them in 1985 (disappointingly, there is less insight on the Hillsborough Disaster). It really feels as if the words on the page are coming right from Southall's heart as he outlines the emotions and impact that infamous decision had on Everton's dramatic collapse as the country's top side. Southall goes on to give highly interesting and controversial reasons for the ban on English teams participating in European football.

The book ends with a different kind of insight: an insight into the world of negotiating with NEETs (young people Not in Education, Employment or Training). It is the way this book transforms seamlessly from the grit of professional football to the teaching of desperate young adults that give this autobiography an edge in the crowded football market. Whilst Southall is at times guilty of lapsing into giving details of too many games and goalscorers, this is nonetheless an excellent buy for those wanting an honest insight from a true footballing legend into what the game was like in the by-gone era of the 1980s and 90s.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)