Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 12 May 2013
All the images seem blurry and not well defined, only a few images are nice. The book came in perfects conditions, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 22 December 2011
Weiye Yin is a concept artist with over ten years of experience. He draws a variety of subjects but this book focuses on scene design, creating believable backgrounds that serve as a backdrop for stories in games and films.

The book is split into three parts. First is the introduction to scene design and how it differs from just painting background art. Second part looks at the principles and procedures. Third is a collection of demonstrations that look at how a few scenes are developed, namely Landscape, Environment, Urban Architecture, Atmosphere and Still Life.

It is a good introductory guide to scene design. You get tips on dealing with composition, lighting, colours, adding details, effects, doing drafts and even on dealing with clients.

The step-by-step demonstrations talks in depth about the conceptualization process, the considerations when handling different types of projects. Two of the case studies presents some tips on using 3DS Max for scene designs. Most, if not all, the examples are digital paintings, some with the use of 3D software.

It's more recommended to intermediate and advanced artist who already know the basics of painting and want to apply that knowledge to a different field.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
Firstly I have to say that this is a beautifully produced book. A lot of care has been taken to make it presentable and I feel that it's only right given that it's a book about art and design.

The content inside is good too. There are some stunning pictures and there is a fair bit of detail about how they were achieved. I should stress that this is not the most text-book type of CG design material around, so maybe there are other, more authoratitive works out there, but the author is a veteran of the industry and his advice should not be discarded lightly (if at all). Perhaps more for the CG artist closer to the beginning of their career, a student at university for example, but not a work for a complete beginner unless they are ambitious and have a natural flair for it. Filled with excellent tips and advice for refining your work and always from a perspective of having 'been there, done that', this book would be an excellent guide for people trying to improve their skills and a good reference for those who want reinforce their skills and knowledge.

Could you have a better tutor? Maybe, I don't know. But for this price you'd be stupid not to treat yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
This has helped a lot with arranging shots for an animated film I'm working on! highly recommended for anyone working in games, or animation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
bought on recommendtion from others and it is a lovely book plenty of pictures and a breakdown of how diffferent scenes were achieved
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I am reliably informed the book is brilliant and instructive (by my 18 year old daughter, who the book was bought for as a gift).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2017
Just a few pages are a bit dirty with pencil rub, but overall its pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
It's really impeccable as it's new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
this book is pretty good, looking at it i thought it would be much like the 'alive character design' but it just doesn't quite live up to it, it has the same look and feel to it as alive, but it just doesn't have to amount and quality of designs in there, i mean it is a good book, definitely worth a look but i was just a little disappointed with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Lovely book that gives an insight into the thought and process that goes into creating stunning concept art of landscapes and environments from a great artist. The main floor of the book is that there are numerous spelling mistakes throughout which could have easily been avoided and hinder the overall quality of the book.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)