Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 5 May 2017
First thing that struck me was the size of this, its more a pamphlet than a book, also flimsy packaged in plastic sleeve, contents ok although little in way of diagrams which would be far more helpful than text alone, quite expensive for a paperback..!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
A rather slim book - some line drawings showing typical workings would have been helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2017
It seemed a slim volume for the price, but the explanations and photos are clear and this gives a very good introduction to the subject, to be used I would say in conjunction with internet or other sources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
Good fast service; excellent little book for the beginner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
A good starter book, now need some more detail
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I cannot belive how i managed before i bought this book now can't start a project without looking at the book first 100% good buy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
i found i could refer to this book for information while working on a clock 100% satisfied a must for all beginner's.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2013
I have just received this book and having read half of the content, I can certainly say that this writer does a very good job of explaining how the different stages of clock repairing, for example, taking apart, cleaning, oiling, re-bushing, handling of main spring, setting of chime, re assembly etc is done, and in a very simple language. It really is a beginners guide as he says himself. I would have preferred a much more detailed introductory chapter on the clock parts with lots of photos and drawings. For example, he does not even mention the parts of a weight driven clocks. The introductory chapter is too short for a true beginner. A slightly expanded chapter on "tools and material" explaining how we could make simple tools and use them would have been even better. On the whole this is a very good book and unlike other books on clock making he addresses it to the non professional clock maker and he sees the need for them, if we are to rescue these clocks from ending in the dump site because we can not afford the services of a professional clock maker every two to three years.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
Disappointed. I am beginner. I have a partly dismantled clock. I expected the book to show the various cogs and wheels, explain their purpose and show me, clearly, how they all fitted together. Instead, I got a section drawing, then a photograph of all the actual parts as a group, prior to, and after cleaning. When it comes to reassembly, precise instructions are given for reassembling the spring (irrelevant for my weight-driven clock) and then says 'the ..wheelwork can then be replaced in the backplate of the movement as shown in figure 26'. Figure 26 is a photo of it all reassembled. Presto, job done! Wheelwork, incidentally, comprises all the wheels and cogs. So unless you know where all the wheels and cogs went in the first place and/or photographed every single step, this book will not be much help. Definitely not for complete beginners.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2013
Great little book. Ideal for the beginner. Gives just the right amount of information without getting too technical. I have found this book very useful and it's a great place to start for the beginner, just the right amount of detail.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)