Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
The Unofficial Countryside (Nature Classics Library)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 9 February 2014
I stumbled across this book while looking for another, related title (Edgelands by Paul Farley and Michael Symmons Roberts), and cannot recommend it highly enough - not only for anyone who is interested in 'nature' (at any level), but also anyone who enjoys outstanding writing. It is an account of a year observing the relationship between plants and animals (birds in particular) and the manmade environment, and one of the most enjoyable books I have ever read on any subject. The author has just the easiest, most effortless writing style, and I shall be seeking out more of his work. I love this book so much I want EVERYONE to know about it. And that is the highest praise I can offer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
Love this book.If you have a love of Britain and nature,if you have a care for the little weeds that sprout in the wastelands, transforming derelict and industrial areas from drab to colour then please read this wonderful book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2018
Good copy arrived speedily
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2015
A wander around the scablands and wastelands of 80s Britain. Accompanied by Richard Mabey a brilliant guide. Old sidings ,rubbish dumps and abandoned factories brought back to life by nature and the authors evocative words
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2016
wonderful and thought provoking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2015
A brilliant and timeless book. It has inspired me to look at the streets of London around me in a different way!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2013
Great writing, informal but informing, really like the attention to detail when describing a location. It is for everyone who can see whats usually overlooked
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
Arrived in good condition, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2013
Although written some years ago in the style typical for Mabey,it is still relevant today.
I would recommend this book to nyone with an interest in the coutryside.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2011
When this book was first published in 1973 the idea that ecologically valuable sites could be found in the waste lands and dumps of our urban areas must have been rather novel. Today it seems remarkable that people could have missed the diversity and vigor that can spring from waste-lands.

However, such a change of perspective does not render this either an old fashioned or irrelevant book - far from it. In his sensible, lucid prose Mabey explores many sites in England's SE and finds wildlife to be abundant - often short lived, but still abundant.

He calls such areas the Unofficial Countryside, in clear contrast to the Official Countryside of national parks, nature reserves and ANOB's and such like.

Some of the things that he identified have been overtaken by time, - urban foxes, squirrels, Japanese Knotweed and such like, but the central message remains the same - given a chance, some form of natural ecosystem will form in most places over time.

This is still an important message. The official countryside, for all its protection (assuming it does not get sold off to the highest bidder!) is almost certain to lose species over time, that's what islands do. Other areas - the unofficial bits - are needed to connect these high value sites together. But beyond that the Unofficial Countryside has value of its own - but we may need to change our perspective to see it.

This is an excellent and insightful book which is worth reading in the light of modern habitat change, as well as being a historical insight into the development of the urban ecology movement.

Recommended.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Edgelands
£8.62
Nature Cure
£5.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)