Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 20 June 2013
Having listened to Henry Stewart expound his Business Mantra on the Radio one Sunday morning I decided to view this book. Henry is an excellent orator and I found myself taken along for the ride.

However the book proved to be a big disappointment with little or nothing new to offer over and above management ideals held by the writer. This is probably because the book is written in such a way that Henry sets himself up as a 'no nothing' Manager from the start.

Not what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2009
An inspirational, easily read book. It gives real ways that you can change your workplace to make it a better place to work and a more productive and profitable business. Written in a fun way, i'm personnaly looking forward to taking some of the ideas on board. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2009
Relax! is an overwhelmingly superb book written very much in the style of the One Minute Manager. This makes it easy, fun and quick to read.

Within the 70 pages (that's all; everything) you'll find virtually every element of management theory covered in a totally practical an understandable manner.

Henry talks about ownership, empowerment, empathy, active listening, finance, talent management, sales, organisational development and even facilities!

With many books I've read over the years there has always been the "Wouldn't it be good if we could only" type of remark. This book deals with reality; this is really what happened to real people (names changed) who have achieved real results - and if you don't believe me then check out the website or call Henry directly (he even gives his real contact number at the end of the book).

Outstanding!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2010
This book is as bright as its cover and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who, as a supervisor, manager or leader of any sort, is responsible for delivering results that depend on the performance of others! It is a delightful read to while away a short journey, or for those rare moments when you are at a loose end or, if you are stressed or discouraged, to inspire you at the end of a day when you are feeling that the whole world is against you. It illustrates with a very light touch how management has complicated what is, or should be, common sense and the extent to which the sense of self-importance that comes with a supervisory role undermines our ability to trust others and so inhibits our own performance and that of others. Management is not rocket science; it is about people. And this book illustrates that point - simply, amusingly, effectively and enjoyably. Learning is much easier when it is fun and this is a happy story that makes a very important lesson fun, and therefore more memorable. Even better, it is a case study that proves that the lessons really work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2009
Working in a big organisation, it's difficult to believe that it's possible to have generally happy and dedicated employees most of the time, all performing to a high standard and bought into what they're doing, but Happy Ltd has done it. Having also heard Henry Speak, I'm now convinced that this is possible. It's really interesting to read about their different approach to management, and the effects it has on the staff at Happy. A fascinating read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2009
A fantastic little book from an inspirational team who practise what they preach. Happy is what they are and Relax! is a book that can show you how to make going to work a pleasure. I highly recommend it - can't wait to get these ideas in motion in my own workplace.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2009
This is a great read - I'm on maternity leave from Happy (I've worked there for over 3 years), and it was good to be reminded of how special the company is. The book outlines principles which have just become second nature to me, as that's how it is at Happy. And it was fun, clear and engaging from the first!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2010
Lynsey brought this book home having dealt with Happy Computers before and we both consumed the book in a day - it is so readable and really inspiring. We both build businesses - both our own and others through consultancy - and would recommend this as a plain speaking introductory text to so many of our clients.
Good management principles do not rest solely with the MBAs of this world or in the 300+ page 'Introductions' to business growth and management that you can buy by the dozen - even here on Amazon! In our personal and general experience most businesses, especially SMEs (<250 staff) really need practical advice and support delivered on a human scale and level - this book delivers it in 70 pages, and includes some funny and familiar scenarios, which is a fantastic achievement.

Lynsey would also like to confess that she was once a 'stationery cupboard monitor' and conducted regular stock takes to prevent theft - this was at primary school though, which is where it should remain, if at all!

Well done Happy team, you are professionally 'Relaxed',
John Sweeney and Lynsey Boother
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2009
A very serious message written in a very entertaining way. You get hooked from the very first line. The book presents an ideal that most organisations are struggling to achieve. Read this book for both personal and organisational growth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2011
Really good quick & inspirational read; recommend it to anyone who wants to improve their work/life balance or just stop worrying about work! All about trusting people and your own instincts, about being yourself. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here