Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Kevin
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2009
Kevin is a familiar story that people hear about on a day to day basis, child abuse, not knowing who parents are, running away from home. All of these form the basic premise for Kevin. The story is told through the eyes of a teenager at highschool who is also the victim of bullying.

Kevin is a very easy to read and very difficult to put down book. Although being a fictional tale, it's all too easy for readers to relate to aspects where I'm sure all of us have been at some point in time.

Joe Castle captures the language of a teenager in Manchester perfectly (no surprise after the schools he has worked in) and the way in which a teenager percieves the world is in no doubt helped by his pupils. It's almost as if it was written a 13 year old (that is of course, a compliment to a fantastic style of writing that just goes to show, working in a school can do absolute wonders for your prose).

Kevin is an enjoyable read for all ages and has a fantastic laugh a page story. It's well recommended and hopefully we shall see more from Joe Castle very soon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
"Kevin" is a story about a boy and his sister leaving an unhappy, abusive home and heading to see family they haven't laid eyes on for a decade. The book is well written and tells a story which moves from sadness to optimism.

Especially good are the descriptions of Spain, which the family visit as a place of refuge. The book is both sad and funny, but written with an excellent prose that brings the difficulties of the situation, as well as the triumphs, beautifully to life.

Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2009
"Kevin" is a wonderful read; it is incredible how it brings delightful memories from your own school days back. It is very funny the whole way through, laughing in your chair funny. The lovely details about each location, people, food couldn't be better.
I really hope there will be many more stories to follow, as I am also surprised it is Joe Castle's first book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
Kevin is a stunningly good read. It is written from the view of a 13 year old boy from Manchester who has, to say the least, got a few problems on the home front.

The author has captured the character of Kevin brilliantly and has managed to make the characters and events in the book come alive with his bittersweet and sometimes laugh out louds descriptions narrative.

Once you start reading you will want to carry on to the end to see how it all pans out.

Truely a wonderfully written piece that deserves a greater stage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
This is an outstanding short novel by Joe Castle about teenager Kevin and his little sister and their escape from and triumph over a difficult home life.

A very universal book - whether you're 8 or 80 - all will experience the fast and free flowing emotions that run through this tale.

I would definitely recommend this book to all. It's an exciting, dramatic, humorous, heart wrenching novel not to be missed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
Although this book was bought for my daughter, after glancing at the first page I couldn't put the book down.

It is a real roller coaster of emotions that has you laughing and crying along with Kevin, willing him on and hoping that he won't give up. The book is so well written that you can see, smell and feel Spain all around you.

The climax was brilliant, keeping you guessing as to Kevin and Kirstys fate. We would love to hear how Kevin gets on later in life - any chance you could oblige Mr Castle?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
Kevin Is such a good book.
I enjoyed it so much that I'm sure I'll read it again because it's so funny:D
I can tell that Kevin will go far.
It is such an enjoyable book I just couldn't put it down even when it was 10.00pm (sorry Mum and Dad)
I'd like to say a Special Thanks to Mr Castle for letting me illustrate his book and if anyone hasn't read Kevin yet you must!
Laura
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
Wow! What a fabulous read! My 11 year old daughter found it as engrossing as I did. The issues dealt with were realistic and were treated in a way that children will recognise and understand. The humour worked well throughout. This would be a great present for both boys and girls alike. It is surprising that this is a first novel and we look forward to the next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
What a truly engaging story, i laughed and cried along with Kevin and Krusty and didn't want their tale to end. If you only buy one book this year it has to be Kevin by Joe Castle. More please Joe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
Just finished reading this book and I really enjoyed it. Great story through the eyes of a 13 year-old boy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here