Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2009
This is a bottom up approach to the subject. The book makes no assumptions about the reader's level of knowledge to start with. It seems to cover all the basics and gently introduces the reader to why and how PAT testing is performed as part of the health and safety requirements of a managed quality system.

Having said that, it is a surprisingly easy read. I had expected a text book on this subject to be hard going and perhaps rather tedious, but this is not the case. It is remarkably practical, with a common sense approach and a style that does not leave the reader floundering in technical jargon. The colourful layout and extensive use of example photographs and diagrams helps to make this handbook easy to use.

The text includes template documents for planning a test regime and recording results and provides a description of the procedures required to test the majority of applicable appliances that could be expected to be found in an office based workplace or domestic environment.

This is not a text book specifically for passing trade related exams on the subject but will undoubtedly provide an invaluable reference source. If you need to find out about PAT testing, what is required and how to go about doing it then this book should provide the answer.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
This book provides a very straightforward explanation for a subject that often has a great deal of misunderstanding. I especially liked the way it is presented, without going in to great technical detail, providing a straightforward introduction. Detail is added later on which the reader can choose to refer to or not, depending on what their interest is in the topic.

I would recommend it to anyone interested in implementing PAT testing in their workplace, whether or not they are going to be undertaking testing themselves.

For someone carrying out the testing it would complement the necessary training and provides a valuable source of both practical and theoretical reference material.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2009
The handbook of portable appliance testing has paved the way for all of us ordinary mortals to get a full handle of the subject. PAT testing is no longer the preserve of the few. It lays bare all the facts from basic understanding to the detail. I have known many a company pay exorbitant prices for "experts" to carry out this exercise and do it regularly. I have introduced this book to my sons school and they are deilghted with the knowledge they now posses to ensure all electrical items are at a safe level for the children.

The school tells me that the money saved can now be used for other facilities that had to be shelved as a result of the previous costs of PAT testing.

I recommend that the saftey officer of all organisations to use this book as a reference guide to PAT testing so that the appropriate tests are carried out to keep all electrical equipment in a 'safe to use' condition and do it with the full uderstanding of the subject.

Thanks to the Author Mr Seggy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
There are many PAT testing books available from quite cheap to very expensive.
As PAT testing is not something I need to do as a job, I didn't want to spend too much .
I eventually decided on this one and have found it to be excellent with clear explanations and illustration without too much complicated theory.
It has everything you need to do PAT testing at an affordable price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
what class is it ? this book will tell you all you need to now ,very good if I can undersatnd it so can you, just take you time .It the sort of book you will go back to from time to time a reminder.
Outstanding very good book a must for any work place who do they onw PAT testing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
I made my choice based on reviews and advice given by others and I am happy that I did. I'd never done anything to do with PAT testing before but after reading this cover to cover just once I was confident in getting a machine and getting on with it - the job is now done. A recommended book suitable for beginners and above, same it's £30 though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
The handbook of PAT testing with many colour and diagrammatical detail. An absolute detailed book for any intending to work in the PAT testing field. This book has as much detail within it's pages as the IEE Codes of Practice which is double this price. A good purchase and even better price compared to the Codes of practice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2010
An extremely helpful, well written book that gave me an immediate answer to my query. Having completed an approvred PAT Course at Bournemouth University, I have found it extremely helpful as an aid-memoire on all of the minor points that have arisen during subsequent tests.
I would recommend it to anyone both as an initial guide and also to use it for the same purpose as I do.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
A good companion to the MemoryPAT Downloadable PAT Tester. It contains a clear explanation of current PAT requirements. Who should buy this book? If you have no electrical theory or practical experience and expect to undertake PAT then you should buy this book. If you have some knowledge the book is a useful reference source and worth the purchase price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Exellent book, gives required readings and tables without getting too heavy. Information is.to the point and.easy to follow. Exellent.for reference. 5 Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)