Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
19
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2015
I bought this expecting a summary of the legal aspects of the HMO world but was very disappointed. There were a few tips but mainly stories of "unusual" tenants. Not worth the money I'm afraid.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
This is good for amateurs only, don't waste your money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Nothing new in here. Anyone with common sense will have all the info
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
Found out about this super book from HMO landlady blog.I have years of experience as a landlord but entering this realm of HMO's is a whole new chapter.Fortunately I came across this book and it was just what I was looking for, infact I read twice in quick succession and have recommended it to others.I could go on and use lots of words to describe this brilliant work which is a result of this good lady's experience, but you lot of fellow landlords out there, just like me, would do well to get your own copy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
It can take millions of pounds and many years to achieve the kind of fame that sharp suited, oblong red spectacled marketing types talk of over a long lunch in the City. It's not simply brand awareness they want, the absolute pinnacle of a brand is when the very name becomes part of everyday language.

That's when we `Hoover' the carpet rather than vacuum it, `SkyPlus' a tv show rather than record it and something controversial is a `Marmite' situation. You can almost hear the Madmen toasting themselves with a `Bolly' - oh hang on - that's another one.

Occasionally new words added to the language are not quite as positive.

`Rachmanism', perhaps lesser known these days was a shorthand word for a slum landlord, an exploiter of tenants and an all-round property rogue. Rachman himself was an immigrant to the UK who in the 1950's and 60's owned over 100 `Mansion Blocks' (or slums as they would now be known) and became infamous for methods to evict tenants, even becoming caught up in political scandals of the time.

The word sprang to my mind when I was asked to read and review Renting HMO's Sussed: 100 Pages Of Personal Experience, a recently published title available on Amazon.

There is an undeniable truth about the world of HMO's or Flatlet Houses, that makes them the most challenging of properties to own or live in. They are usually owned by wealthy and successful individuals who often were able to make large sums of capital in other ways before entering the bedsit world. On the other hand, the tenants are often some of the most vulnerable and poorest people in society and increasingly are new arrivals in the Country unaware of the protective legal framework we enjoy.

It is therefore unsurprising that when these two worlds collide there are often issues. Repairs, evictions, theft, threats and excuses.

It is these problems and ways to avoid them that the mysterious HMO Landlady delivers so effectively in this title.

But it is the degree of humour and indeed compassion for tenants that separates this book from the myriad of `get rich quick, tread on everyone' property manuals currently on the market. She shows that it is possible to treat tenants fairly and still make an honest and comfortable living out of HMO's. I'm not sure why a pen name was needed as she patently has nothing to hide, but it's a minor gripe, the book covers everything from buying to décor and a lot of legal tips in between.

The Top Ten Things That Will Happen To You When You Own An HMO made me chuckle and will do the same to anybody who has owned or managed a property like this or indeed lived in one. I suspect a few readers will also raise a knowing and slightly embarrassed smile remembering their days in student digs, especially regarding Item 3.

This book may help to deter those thinking of buying an HMO half-heartedly and will be of great help to those that do buy. A great place to start what will most certainly be a very interesting addition to a buy to let portfolio and will provide you with anecdotes for years to come, whether you want them or not.

Jonathan Rolande
Director
[...]
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
As a landlord with over 100 renters (80+ in House shares), I was really pleased to read a book that is not just full of hype.
For many novice landlords, they are sold the dream of buy a big house, get as many rooms as you can out of it and just sit back while the money rolls in.
The HMO landlady gives a good insight as to what it will be like for most people entering the world of HMO's.
This book is about the `experience' of being a landlord and is not a manual and that's why it makes a refreshing change and should be part of your learning.
I'm a professional landlord and personally manage every single one of my properties and find with the right systems, on a busy week I work 3-4 hours a day, 4-5 days per week.
The HMO landlady has a more hands on approach which may be more time consuming and harder work but she uses this as her USP which is the reason why (I believe) she is very good at it.
If you're thinking of getting into HMO's, and it isn't for everybody, then it's well worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
This has got to be unique - a professional's insight that shoots from the hip - casual, street-wise, superbly knowledgeable, and fun. Or "Sussed", exactly like it says on the tin. More like personal notes on hard-won trade secrets, it's an easy read for a complicated subject, light-heartedly presented just the way a close friend might, liberally sprinkled with personal asides and anecdotes. Best of all, it's an authentic and thoroughly convincing "feel" of what it might be like to be a property owner actually living through the experience of renting to multiple tenants. There's even a bonus: extra input from housing law expert Ben Reeve-Lewis cuts through the massive tangle of legalese (the official six-volume Housing Law Encyclopaedia is two feet thick and weighs twenty-six pounds) to bring you vital info straight-up in words everyone can understand. All in just 100 pages, so it's not really a book, it's more a pocket-size go-anywhere set of professional crib notes. Keep it handy in your top drawer. If you're in the business, you're going to use it a lot.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
This was a useful book written by an existing and enthusiaistic landlady on both the pitfalls as well as the rewards of becoming an HMO landlord/lady. The book acknowledges that this side of property management is probably one of the most difficult in terms of the client base, ensuring consistent income flow and keeping sweet with the authorities. That having been said the financial breakdown contained within the book spells out the potential benefits for the well run HMO. The only difficulty the reader will find is that Councils and lenders are somewhat reluctant to support this side of the industry so for anyone hoping to get started it can be an uphill battle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Clearly evident the writer has some real practical experience. Lots of useful tips and the author answered many questions I had reagrding some of the more practical issues HMO landlords face.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
Overall, the book comes across as a very honest and insightful account of an HMO Landlady's experiences and a bit of a cautionary tale! If potential HMO Landlords have the guts and determination to make it work after reading this, they will go in with their eyes open and be very successful.

If readers want to know more about the ins and outs of flatsharing from a landlord's or tenant's perspective, they should read The Essential Guide to Flatsharing: 2nd edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)