Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2011
As usual a first class book to help you plan a ski holiday. I ordered my copy before publication date so must be one of the first to receive it. I notice that the cover is slightly different to the one in your advert; of no consequence really!
The book is slightly thinner than the 2008 edition which I am replacing, that had 768 pages whereas the new edition has 712 pages.
I was particularly interested in the Italian resort of Bormio which used to have a good full description in the textin 2008 but is now reduced to a few sentences in the index in the 2012 edition.
The book is well researched and printed in a clear typeface with good maps and photographs. There are interesting articles on getting to a resort independently which is important in these days of excessive charges by some airlines for extra luggage and skis! Mention is also made of getting to European resorts by train and by car. I commend the volume to anyone planning a ski trip. Guidance on uplift machinery, snow reliability and length of queues as well as hotel and other accommodation can make a lot of diffence to skiing. Important when costs of skiing do seem to have gone up more than inflation for this coming season
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
Pretty much the best reference book I know about any subject at all. I have consistently found it uncannily accurate and alarmingly complete; I have on occasions tried to send in reports but found that every single thought I can muster about a resort is already in print. It's almost sinister. It's also easy to read, amusingly rude about some places, and full of beautifully edited piste maps. I can't imagine planning a ski holiday without it.

Having got various older copies of the book, I can concur that the 2012 edition is shorter than 2008, but longer than 2011 - and the level of detail seems to keep on growing. This year there's an extension to the 'resort price index' to include lift passes; this helped me win a bet about the relative prices of Courchevel and St. Anton so it must be good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
They say you should not judge a book by its cover, but in this case you should.

WTSS 2012 is that and more, if you are tying to find no holes barred honest reporting this is the book to use to check your next winter holiday destination.

It uses not only the experience of the editorial team but makes extensive use of reports filed by readers, this should ensure a more balanced rating and will of course allow for more destinations to be covered and kept up to date.

Almost all you could need to know about your resort can be found, from the quality of the lifts to the price of everyday expenses, it can go a long way towards helping you know what it will cost for your week away and may help prevent nasty suprises after arrival.

At the front of the book prior to the resort features there are articles on many ski related subjects to keep the reader up to date with new trends, equipment and many great ideas that assist in planning your winter break. There are comparison charts to help you choose between resorts depending on your particular preferences.

All in all it has to be the only really up to date research tool for planning a winter holiday.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
I am a keen skier and I would never choose a resort without checking it out in this book. The reviews are very in depth and cover everything you could need to know when booking a holiday. When you have chosen the holiday the book is useful to take with you as the detailed information is helpful for making the most of what is available in resort. I have received the book as a gift and I cant put it down...highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Found this guide to be very useful. It recommended a brilliant ski school which enabled me to make very fast progress as a beginner. The information on Verbier was very helpful and up to date. I will certianly be using this again for future ski trips.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
...and I'm not sure why. We usually go back to somewhere we've been before, anyway. Meanwhile, this is highly priced for what it is - an advertising-supported puff job for the world's ski resorts.

It's not particularly easy to use, or even read - stuff you want more detail on isn't there, and there's detail you don't need, too. It's also repetitive - how many times and in how many ways can you say a slope is steep?

All the info is available online, anyway.

Don't get hooked like me - free your mind and your skis will follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
This is the best ski/board guide I have bought yet. It has in depth reviews including the usual restaurant, ski school guides etc, but it also considers childcare, lift pass prices, overall prices of the resort and travel tips. For me the best part of the book is that with each area there is a review of the piste map, with little notes on the map to show you the best and worst parts of the area. Also included are guides on the suitability for all types of skier, very useful for me as a trip organiser.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
The skiers bible. This book is a must for all skiers, read it before you book your holiday.Remember your 1 week away is very precious, using this you can prevent an expensive mistake.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
An absolutely fantastic book with all the right information about all the right places. It's not only information about skiing (which is of course very important) but it has relevant info about the resorts that help the non skier as well. A great book to plan anyones skiing holiday by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
This is the definitive skiing resort guide for anyone who wants to research resorts in any of the main destinations around the world. Very accurate in its summaries and detailed descriptions of the resorts, the skiing areas and the costs at the destinations. Highly recommended for anyone planning on trying a new destination for their skiing holiday. This book can be trusted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)