Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 May 2008
If your going to visit Edinburgh don't even think about doing it without this guide, you'd miss so much - I actually used to live in Edinburgh for a while and I didn't know a quarter of this.

Instead of listing tons of bars and restaurants, this book picks places and things to do according to your mood. There's a great section on things to do if it's a cold day and things to do on a romantic outing, the best pubs for a quiet chat, etc etc. And the thing I really liked is that it's all written and photographed by locals - beautiful and stylish to look at too... Definite a great buy if your visiting or if you live there.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2008
i've just come back from a fab weekend in edinburgh thanks to the locals' guide. not only did it give me the low down on all the cool places to hang out but i could walk along the street holding it without feeling like a tourist - i loved the design because it doesn't look like an ordinary guide book - more like a funky note book or journal. Plus, it's small enough to fit in a handbag but still contains all the info you need. Genius.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2008
Like all the best bits of Lonely Planet but beautifully packaged and designed. It's obviously written by someone with real love for their fair city and the people within it.
Like having a really amazing tour guide who knows all the best bars, restaurants and attractions that he doens't normally show to the tourists but he likes the look of you so he'll let you in on the cities secrets.
With little interviews with people who live in Edinburgh reccomending their favourtie haunts this is such a personal guide, almost like it's been tailored to your every off the beaten track need.
A little gem.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2009
Really well thought out book! Doesn't look like a guide and provides different ideas for places to visit, eat at and things to do. I only stayed in Edinburgh for a couple of nights but managed to take up quite a few of the suggestions and none of them disappointed!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2009
The Local's Guide to Edinburgh gives you one of those rare things in a travel book - an insider's eye. Taking you into the world which tourists just never see, this is probably one of the best guides to a city I've ever seen. It makes Edinburgh come alive to those who may only know the usual haunts and stirs in the reader a sense of adventure.

As a resident of Edinburgh, this is the one book which I can recommend without any hesitation to visitors coming to stay. Beautifully designed and written with a warm, clever wit, it is also a great souvenir of a memorable city. The authors have managed to conjure something magical with this - when are they going to explore other cities?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2015
I got this to have some insider info for my trip but it was a bit disappointing. Its more like an interesting book that might be in a cafe/pub to flick through but not really very helpful to find special places. Its something I shall keep and probably dip into again if I went back but as a 'guide' book not that great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2014
Full of lovely useful tid bits but the typeface is just too small. I think the challenge that many over 50's experience with small print hasn't even entered the awareness of the publisher. I can read it with my glasses on sitting under a reading light but in normal daylight I'd really struggle. Such a shame.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2009
We have just been in Edinburgh for a visit and there is no doubt that this is the best guide book available. It is so different from the run of the mill type stuff, giving a real flavour for the people and places of this superb city. I can't think of a better city to visit in Europe, and equally can't think of a better guide to see Edinburgh through. Atmosphere drips from the pages, and my only disappointment was that I didn;t get to meet some of the people who provided the input for the guide. Thanks guys - when are you doing the rest of the world..!?
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2009
A good book for those who have been to Edinburgh before and want to explore more of the city away from the main tourist bits. That being said the main tourist bits in Edinburgh are brilliant especially the castle, Holyrood etc. If this is your first time and you want to do the main sites this book isn't for you unless you buy a more standard guide and map as well. This was my sixth visit and I found it useful and interesting - and it made me want to return.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
Not very helpful for a first time visitor
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)