Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2011
Whilst this book provides a reasonable understanding of the basics of banking I'm afraid that no effort has been made by the publishers to review it in ebook format - The formatting on the Kindle is truly awful, with footnotes appearing randomly in-line with the text, diagrams spilling over multiple pages and detached from the text and incorrect formatting of the text (headers etc.). It looks like the publishers have run it through a conversion tool and not bothered to proof read. Pretty poor! If you're going to buy this book don't touch the ebook version.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
I've seen the print version in the past and it seemed useful. I bought it for the Kindle. It looks like someone has just OCR'd the print version of the book. Terrible.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2008
This book has been written with extensive contribution by numerous companies providing IT services and compelete banking solutions to the retail banking industry.

I particularly appreciated the thorough insight into different banking systems and platforms used by iFlex, Misys, Chordiant and Temenos who are also the biggest contributors to the books content. Another interesting part was the depiction of the Account Management System but there should be more diagrams indicating the architecture of low-level banking systems. Core banking systems are well explained but again I do believe a more thorough explanation is necessary for the reader to understand every aspect of it.

The financial data provided is fascinating and quite informative and there is some useful linking of that information to IT system features.

I was in fact looking for a book that would have covered more on the aspects of how software installed within a bank's server communicates effectively with POS terminals to carry out credit/debit card transactions. However, that was not the case here. Although, I don't think there is a book out there that covers the subject in greater depth.

I would highly recommend the book to IT professionals and retail bank executives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
A pretty good summary, although I think it should really have been called '...in UK Retail Banking' as it is completely focussed on the UK perspective.

One complaint would be the quality of the printing. My copy had the spine printed upside down, the page numbers and headers aliened on the wrong side of the page (so that they are hidden in the cleft of the pages), and some of the diagrams were very difficult to read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2008
This one is superb and highly recommended reading. Even if you are not currently working or intending to work in the financial sector, the book has much to offer us both as IT professionals and as customers of the sector.
The book has sections on the most used methodologies, software suites and packages and describes the impact that regulation has had on the sector. Perhaps I shouldn't tell you, but there is also a section on money laundering and the steps that people go through to dry clean their cash.

Underpinning the regulations is the admonishment to KYC or know your customer. Up to now, I thought that a PEP was a form of investment overtaken by ISAs but this book tells me that it also stands for a politically exposed persons. This includes local and national government officials, members of the judiciary, senior members of the armed forces and people involved in government-owned corporations.

Bang up to date, the book discusses paperless, mobile and cashless banking and plots the trends and players in the field.

Worth buying to read and keep on the shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An excellent introduction for an IT professional getting into Retail
Banking. It is an equally good reference for IT professionals in other areas
who need some domain knowledge of this industry vertical, which is one of
the biggest users of this technology.

The book reads well and is extremely comprehensive in its coverage. Alas, it is a bit too concise; it whets your appetite for more. For a young student in an IT course, probably the book needs to be twice in size - in terms of detail.

The coverage is extensive and contemporary. It covers the different areas of IT applications for Retail Banking for a modern bank in today's times. Two valuable additions would be additional chapters on IT nfrastructure / Remote Infrastructure Management and IT Enabled Services, both important, growing areas for managing IT in this domain.

The Bizle Professional Series covers the Banking and Financial Services
domain very well. I look forward to this series moving on to two more fast growing industry verticals, Organised Retail and Telecom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2007
A lot has been said in the press about the IT worker who's strictly focused on technology becoming a rarer bird as offshoring to India becomes the norm. This is one of the books that gives IT professionals a glimspe of the future of IT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
As a final year student in Business Information Systems, I have been looking for a book that would help me to develop my knowledge and skills in IT in retail banking. This book is the most comprehensive and the only book on this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
Exactly what I was looking for. There is no book out there, except for this one of course, that gives graduates of Information Technology an insight into retail banking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
This book tell you all you need to know about IT in retail banking.The discusion on mainframe technologies used in retail banking is very insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)