Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

  • Skins
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
13
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2015
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Sweet and dandy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Great book, great pics, great story, live locally to where set but wouldve been equally happy if i knew nothing about the place/genre before hand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Disappointing in that it's not original skins, but the new wave... Punk, rather than Mod, influences creeping in. No disrespect to Gavin's photography.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
i absolutely LOVE this book. the photo's are natural, not forced. Watson presents the people in his photo's as individuals, different people, where as Nick Knight, in his book skinheads, it seems, seeks to show a movement (and only a specific side of that movement, in fact the more negative side of the movement).
Watson's image are beautiful, striking and memorable, this book remains my favorite phtography book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
A great book for anybody interested in skinhead culture. Some really good pictures in here, my only problem with it is i wish there was some more writing. The pictures with some more stories would have gone hand in hand perfectly. Still, if the scene interests you its a nice book to own
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
some great pictures from a time when music was music and clothes made a statement. Not like todays HOODIE culture! Would have liked a few tales from the era thus only 4 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
Seriously this guy who's talking about this not having anything to do skins is nuts, the photos are youth culture captured as it happened, the photographer is one of the kids, this is an insight into youth, fashion, music, mates growing up on an estate, as is was all over the country. Faces and walleys, love and hate, the real face of youth culture. Stuck together with some incredible photography. You'd have to be crazy to not see the genius in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2008
i brought this book along with "skinhead" and found this one so much better. i was doing a photography project based on gavin watson's work and found this very useful. he is my favourite photograoher, i love the way he portrays east end skins as he see's them
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
An old skinhead mate email me one day and said your famous!? i said why and he told me about this book so short and sweet - this is a great book to remember the old days and other is IAM IN THE BOOK TWICE!!! LOL ;)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)