Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2014
This guide is very informative for both the novice entomologist, like myself, and the more advanced student wanting to add to his or her knowledge of the bumblebees most likely to be encountered in the British countryside. An excellent read !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Pros:
- Small handy size
- Great colour chart to read off
- Great paper spread with males on one side and females the other - quick reference!
- Recommended by bee experts

Cons:
- I have none!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
This is a well laid out, excellent guide to bumblebees for an amatuer like me. It allows ID with the most basic of kit and prior knowledge. Can't rate it highly enough
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
My copy has photographs that are often dark but the outline and content of the book are a great help with identifying bees
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I gave this book 5 stars because it is exactly what it said it would be. An excellent guide to Bumblebees for either the beginner or the expert with great photographs and an easy markings guide. It's also a good size so you can take it into the field in your back pocket.
Excellent value for money particularly when purchased from Amazon
I was recommended it by a Bumblebee expert and I would now pass on my recommendation also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
As a beginner to the world of bumblebee watching, this book is excellent.

The species and information on each is laid out professionally and with thought to

those of us with limited knowledge on these bees.The 'Spotters Guide' section is invaluable

and makes life a lot easier in attempting to identify a Bumblebee, whether Queen, Female or Worker.

Well worth buying just for the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
With our population of species of bees disappearing in our environment, we need to know how important bees and other pollinating creatures are. Not many people know how dependant we are on these insects for our life. Without them, it has been noted that within a decade, humanity will be dying of stavation. This book gives information about the value of bees in our environment and is easy to understand. It is handy for when you go for walks and the more we can teach our youngsters and adults about their true worth, the better for us all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
If you are interested in Bumble Bees then this guide is well worth purchasing. There is a very handy colour key at the beginning which sets out the bees banding so you can quickly get to the right or similar species. There are good photographs and very useful narratives. Worth every penny, an essential guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Excellent book, the quick identification chart is a bit like a key and each species has a stylised icon showing colour markings.

Some great pictures, descriptions list identifying features, distributions, biology, season, habitat and head shape. Really pleased with this buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
this book makes bumble bee identification, which is difficult, the easiest its ever going to get. Its pocket sized, and packed with useful information and colour pictures. A simplified key is also included which identifies bees with similar colour combinations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)