Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
13
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2007
On the face of it, this seems to be a basic introduction to Zen Buddhism & its meditation practices. Like Zen itself this book unveils more layers the futher you delve into it and gives something to beginners & more experienced trainees alike.

This book isn't written by an academic but by the abbott of a working Buddhist monastery.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2008
This is a wonderful little book for anyone interested in Zen practice. Written by the abbot of a Zen temple teaching here in the UK - it introduces the practice of zazen or 'silent illumination' to anyone in a simple and effective manner.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
As a Buddhist teacher of meditation in prisons for over ten years I think this book is simply one of the best introductions to meditation I have yet read. I highly recommend it to beginners and experienced meditators.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Over the years, there have been many excellent books written on Buddhist practice and theory generally, and on Zen in particular. So many indeed that it's impossible to say which is 'the best'. But this gem comes close. As another reviewer rightly said, it's simple on one level, but on repeated readings opens up and goes deep, especially if you yourself are a daily meditator: His writing hits your own experiential spot brilliantly.
Daishin Morgan is a superbly gifted writer. But not only that, he's a profoundly intelligent, economical, dryly witty and extremely 'human' speaker and teacher. (Check out his talks on Throstle Hole Abbey's homepage. They are wonderful).
My only regret is that I never went up to Throstle Hole to hear him talk in person while he was there. I know that he has taken a long but temporary leave from the abbey and has expressed his intention to return. Let's hope he does. But if he doesn't, let's hope he continues teaching and writing in some capacity. Great teachers are rare and it would be a crying shame if we were all to be deprived of this brilliant yet modest one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
This book contains all you will need to enable you to begin and proceed with a Zen meditation practice if you are a beginner - it includes a lot of basic instruction that other books seem to leave out. But not just that, Its got the lot, everything you'll need - so don't be misled by the SIMPLE. This is a COMPREHENSIVE guide for beginners and experienced practicioners alike. I have given copies to friends with an interest in taking up a meditation practice who have found it easy to read and the directions simple to follow.
Along with Steve Hagen's Buddhism Plain and Simple, I would rate this as a must for any aspiring practitioner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
This is an excellent introduction to the practice of Serene Reflection Meditation as practised within the Soto Zen Tradition. It explores the direct physical and mental aspects of zazen and looks at the broader context of practice.

This volume is by Rev. Master Daishin Morgan, Abbot of Throssel Hole Buddhist Abbey (in Northumberland, UK) and Dharma heir of the late Rev. Master Jiyu-Kennett, founder of the Order of Buddhist Contemplatives. Also by Rev. Master Daishin is Buddha Recognizes Buddha, a more advanced work looking at living within the ever-present reality of enlightenment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I enjoyed this handy little book! It gives simple excercises on how to meditate and they are easy to follow and can be done anywhere, especially handy if you have a desk job!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
The message/teachings in the book are presented in exactly the way as the content it is trying to express. By that i'm trying to say that there is nothing unnecessary added but there is not missing. It has everything you need to know at the time you read it. The author hits a lot of good points and even though you may think its a short book, you (like myself) will more than likely come back to it over and over to gleam more meaning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
A wonderfully accessible book for the beginner or more experienced meditator. Gives great insight into zen buddhism but more importantly gives practical and grounding advice on meditation - zazen. Has enabled me to let go to a much deeper level and i'm sure as i read it again more and more insights will become clear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
An excellent introduction to understanding Zen Buddhism. Simple and unambiguous, the author uses language the average person can understand with relatable concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)