Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 September 2004
These stories are set in Edwardian (around the 1900s) England.
You get a set of E. Nesbit's seven most popular children's books, printed together in one volume. This is enough to keep you going for quite a long time, even if you're a very determined reader!
The stories are about groups of children, who have adventures when their parents go away (for different reasons). They're in a couple of sequences - 'The Railway Children' stands by itself, then there's three books about the same group of children ('Five Children and It', 'The Phoenix and The Carpet', and 'The Story of the Amulet'), then two about a different family (the Bastables: 'The Story of the Treasure-Seekers' and 'The Would-be-goods'), then 'The Enchanted Castle' is another one-off.
Some of these stories feature magic in a Harry Potter kind of way - that's the three 'Five Children' stories and 'The Enchanted Castle' - while the others are about the children's adventures within the normal Edwardian world - that's 'The Railway Children' and the Bastable stories.
I'd recommend these books - they're very engaging and easy to read, and you really do want to keep turning the pages to find out what happens next! There's enough here to keep you going for a long time, too.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2017
I haven't actually read much of this because I found I couldn't - the text layout is just so weird! It's like an old-fashioned newspaper - two columns with a great big line down the middle, and gaps between each paragraph rather than indentations. It all looks very fragmentary and is difficult to follow - so I'm afraid I gave up after a couple of chapters of 'The Railway Children' and am now hunting these various books second-hand individually. Great to have all these stories in one place - but I really can't recommend this not very nicely presented book for comfortable reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2005
Before J.K.Rowling and Roald Dahl, there was E.E.Nesbit; one of the most prolific and inventive children's authors of all time, even if the inventor of Harry Potter (who acknowledges her as her favourite children's author) may be close to usurping that title. Even though her books were written a century ago, such was the universal appeal of her themes and the ease with which children could identify with her characters that she has remained in print to this day and the stories are just as good now as they were then.
As with any children's classics the appeal lies in a cracking plot, good character development and adult accessibility; parents are as keen to read as their children are to listen. The plots are simple and tend to have a similar basic theme: well-to-do-kids living ideal life suddenly have to face change through unseen circumstance and/or magic, like Rowling, Nesbitt loved to include magic and enchantment in her stories (it is, perhaps, ironic that her best tale, “The Railway Children”, contains none although it is certainly enchantING). Like Rowling, her stories also tend to have a dark side: many contain, and even hinge around, an absent, idealised father, reflecting the loss of the writer's own parent when she was just six, but it is this that gives them their impact. Although it may be cheaper to buy the books individually in paperback, I find hardback a better investment - children will want to read these stories again and again and, over forty years, every Nesbit paperback I have ever bought has disintegrated through overuse. This omnibus represents a superb investment; every house should have one or - to possibly prevent fights - two!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2007
I absolutely adore the seven books in this collection, and that is why I am begging you not to purchase this item. The book is so physically heavy but floppy in its soft covers that my wrists ached from trying to read it. Within each over-large page, the text is split into two columns, making reading very uncomfortable too. The collection is a complete false economy. These classics deserve better treatment than this!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2004
Classic stories from E. Nesbit - should be part of any child's library.
I remembered reading these stories as a kid, and watching the film of The Railway Children and the TV series of Five Children and It, and it was great to revisit them as a grown-up.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
I thought this would be a great book for my grand-daughter (8yrs) to start reading some of the classic stories but, when it arrived I was so disappointed. The text is far too small for a child to read and even I and my adult neighbour found it difficult.
Such a pity as they are great stories. I don't know what possessed them to produce it with such small text.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
I guess I did not check all the reviews on this one, I totally agree with the other reviewer that the book is very clumsy and floppy, very difficult layput to read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2004
What a brilliant idea to combine 7 classic E. Nesbit books into a single paperback volume. Ideal for the voracious child reader. Make an excellent gift.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
I returned this book because it was very child-unfriendly in its production. It is set out in two columns per page reminiscent of a Bible or prayer book. The print is very small and there are no illustrations. A very disappointing edition of Nesbit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
good selection, odd format, hard to hold, the book should be lying on a desk to be read easily, not suitable for reading in bed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse