Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10

on 3 December 2004
Superb! This great little book is full colour throughout with lots of gorgeous photos and thoughtful, classy design. 26 routes are featured - all my old favourites and lots of brand new terrain. I'd recommend Dark Peak Mountain Biking to anyone.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2007
Dark Peak Mountain Biking is a quality guide to the best that the Dark Peak can offer. It provides clear mapping and directions for 22 circuits, a couple of A to B rides and two links into Sheffield that cover a wide range of terrain and skill levels, from short, fast and fun 'Classics' to long, technical and hard 'Killer Loops'. As a local rider this guide covers many of my favourite trails, such as the Ladybower Classic and Figure of 8, the Kinder Circuit and Blacka Moor but there are still rides I've not done and plenty of opportunity to extend circuits into each other to create quality new ones. The guide is supported by some great photos that really inspire you to get out and, if my copy is anything to go by, it will become a well thumbed guide within any riders library and is a must for those wanting to visit the area, whether your local or live further afield.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2008
I bought this guide the day I moved to Sheffield 3 years ago. After not knowing any of the local routes, it has been like a bible. Now I know them all off by heart. Good useful tips if your traveling to the Peak for the day/week.

Would recommend this and all the V-graphics guides (inc Bouldering guide too). Lakes guide is particulary good - even as i used to be a local it showed me a few things.

Just need to get fit enough this year for the ultimate route in the guide 109km off road - Lord of the Loop. Hopefully doing it in Aug!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2009
This is an excelant guide, well writen, with good colour maps. The trails are easy to follow (using the maps and the text in the guide). There is a good mix of trails also covering most of the high peak district. Once you have ridden a few it becomes easy to mix and match, making up your own trails or just repeating your favorite sections. The book is broken down into sections for Classics, Epics and Enduros so its easy to chose a ride that fits int the time available or meets with the riders ability. Its easy to join 2 rides togeather as well making a good days riding or join 2 rides from different sections to give a more varied ride. There is also some good information on Cafe/pub stops, esential for high class mountain biking. Even if you already know the area there is still an abundance of good information and you canalways try the trails backwards for a change.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2010
Mountain Biking is something I have always wanted to do, but never really thought I could for loads of reasons like ; the money to afford the bike , didn't know how to get started, thought that someone else was needed and fags and beer were more appealing. Having succesfully ditched both of the latter and aquired the bike through the fantastic "Cycle to Work Scheme" I have been keen to get started. This book has enabled me to do just that!

Well organised into sections with clear and sensible grading systems that offer the reader the chance to pitch themselves at routes appropriate to their level of skill and physical ability, whilst at the same time offering routes that really do give a taste of what mountain biking is about.

Particularly useful are the links sections that show how easy it is to jump on the bike and take quick and intersting routes out of town and back, with a minimum of road work. Also routes planned around rail links make MTB riding more accessible, and lesson the need for wearisome driving and parking in Derbyshires most beautiful Parking Nightmare

Clattering over Burbage moor yesterday morning screaming like a girly has convinced me that I am hooked and will be spending some more time exploring the first couple of trails and honing my skills before moving on to some of the real campaigns. Clearly I will get years out of this book !

I don't know how I would have managed to get this far so quickly without this invaluable little book. Well Done Vertebrate Thank You Very Very Much !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2008
I've got both these guides (Dark and White Peak) and they are equally excellent. Full of easy to read maps, clear route descriptions of some classic rides as well as gems you'd never find unless you spend as much time as the authors have riding in the Peak. An ideal size that can easily be stashed and accessed whilst riding. Highly recommended for anyone biking off road in the Peak from first timers to seasoned riders. The measure of a good guide is it makes you want to go biking as soon as you start reading it, and I can guarantee this will certainly do that!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2010
This is THE guide you need for endless hours of lung bursting technical ascent and panic inducing descent in the Dark Peak: all laid out in a clear and logical fashion. It has everything from quick blasts to utter epics. plus a wealth of inspiring photos to whet you appetite.
What more can I say? Buy it and start getting it dirty by using it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2009
Whilst the routes around Hope and Ladybower are well-known to most mountain-bikers, where this book excels is to show off the amazing breadth of quality trails across the central area of the Peak District.

This book provides lots of clear maps, with all the information you need to plan your ride, from cafes, pubs, bike shops, car parks as well as some great photos that show off the Peak.

The range of routes is also impressive, ranging from the shorter rides that might be more appropriate for a quick night ride out of Manchester or Sheffield, or when time is tight on a weekend. The longer rides are well described and show some of the classic loops that will keep you challenging yourself, just make sure you pick a nice day for the 'Lord of the Loops'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2016
A mountain bike trail guide for the (Dark) Peak District. It contains well-written, easy to follow routes for mountain bikers.
There some great routes that cover probably the best of what the Dark Peak has to offer.
I’m part way through the book – moving to continue through to the longer and more difficult routes towards the end of the book. If the second half is as good as the first, then the author has compiled a real gem of a book.
Reading what you’re going to enjoy in the future really motivates you to get out there and see what it’s all about. That’s the key thing that this book has given me, the well-written ‘taster’ of what the future holds ... Why miss out?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2016
I really like this book, there's plenty of routes for all abilities and fitness levels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)