Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9


on 17 June 2016
Great little book, packed with trips and information, many trips I did not know about, the book is well made, feels heavy and is just the right size for carrying around and using as a reference. It is may challenge to try as many tours as possible, the west coast looks fantastic. Just one thing... it would have been nice to have a few more photographs of the actual river or loch in question, other than that really great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2018
Excellent. Really well written, thorough and engaging. Highly recommended for anyone who likes exploring...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2015
Excellent book for anyone who has a canoe. Covers all aspects of safety with tips. Well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2016
For my husband he loved it and is planning his holidays
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2016
Great book, very handy for those who want to plan a nice easy trip, covers most of the touring rivers and lochs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2008
We have a Canadian (open) canoe and have found this book ideal for planning trips across Scotland.

It's got a good coverage of the whole country and each river is graded, has access and exit points clearly marked, as well as hazards and rapids explained so you know what to expect when. It's also got a good selection of trips, from half a day on the Spey to a week touring the West Coast. It is a touring book though, so while there are some more challenging routes it's not suited for 'mad for it' kayaking types looking for gnarly white water.

You'll need a good OS map of the area to cover the route you select as the maps contained are only small basic diagrams, and it doesn't go into much detail, but then Scotland has so many great rivers it would be impractical to do so.

Final bonus - the pages are glossy, giving it some degree of splashproofing which is handy in a canoe!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2011
I really love this book. It has opened up Scotland's Rivers and Lochs to me over the past few years.

The book has over 100 different routes, giving shuttle lengths and paddle distances and grade, along with a brief description of the route followed by an almost blow by blow account of the main obstacles encountered on all of the routes. The routes include sea lochs, inland lochs and rivers and at the back of the book there are some cross Scotland routes.

I would recommend this book to anyone with an open canoe in Scotland or planning a canoeing trip to Scotland.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2011
I sent off for this book because we have just bought a Canadian canoe and this was the only book that seemed to be suitable for all canoes, the other books were more for kayaking. It is clear, well written and offers lots of good advice and lovely routes to try - looking forward to our first trip!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2010
As the proud new owner of a canadian canoe, I bought this book of canoe trip routes for suggestions. Certainly it has many routes. Unfortunately the route descriptions focus on milestones along the route rather than a description of the hazards between individual milestones. For instance, the book will say that a given stretch of 10Km is grade 1 to 2, but there may be several options between those points for entry or egress. Grade 2 is as much excitement as I can handle so far and I'd prefer to stick to 1. Also, important factors like width of river are missing. Tonight I attempted the River Avon south of Falkirk to discover that not only is it grade 2 several times immediately following the entry, but the river is barely wider than a canoe length, giving very few options for maneuver.
In other words, in my opinion the book has some relevant info, but concentrates on the wrong sort of detail.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)