Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 23 May 2017
living on a afrm as a youngster this book brought many happy memories. highly recommend this, enjoyable read ,just one word of advice,if you read it in bed like i did expect a poke or two in the back........cause youl wake the mrs laughing !!!! :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
A good read. With a jenuwine life story. But very informative at the same time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2008
This is the book that inspired "The Good Life" TV series, and is a fascinating and wonderful insight into the life of John Seymour as he becomes self-sufficient. It is the most uplifting and entertaining book and I would recommend it to everybody.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are lots of glowing Amazon reviews for Seymour's more practical 'Complete Guide to Self-Sufficiency' but none for this, his earlier account of his family's almost accidental move to the self-sufficient lifestyle. I would urge everyone to read it. Seymour has a wonderfully opinionated take on life, and sometimes comes across as slightly gloating about his achievements - but then he has right to be! From finding a run-down cottage to running a five acre holding in several entertaining chapters, this really is one for the urban dreamer - my previously sceptical partner read it cover to cover in two days! A truly inspiring read. I would be glad to hear from anyone else who enjoyed this book and is now harbouring self-sufficient dreams!
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
A look at how things used to be done. A wonderfull account of John Seymour's life. A great read for anyone contenplating a self sufficent lifestyle or anyone with even a small front garden. I am so pleased that it has been reprinted.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
I would recommend this book to anyone. If you intend to do a tiny bit or a lot of things for yourself you should read this book, its the best insight into real life I think along with the complete guide to self suffiency, its one of the best reads ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
What can I say, it's a classic. I had already read 'The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency: The classic guide for realists and dreamersand this book was great to see how it all started. A good read for those searching 'The Good Life'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Great book and tells a great story with some sound advice along the way. It's a collection of memories - Not a 'how to' manual - so I wouldn't read it with the ambition of being able to do exactly what JS did. But he has a unique viewpoint (albeit of its time) and tells it well. The afterword is also brilliantly written in my view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Jglad I read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)