Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2016
A great resource with practical examples of memorable named sentence types. For example, BOYS and De:De sentences. Good for teaching varied sentences and punctuation. Useful at Secondary level to improve SPAG.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
I saw these sentence patterns taught in KS2 while on a primary school visit. I am going to use them with my KS3 students and think they will be very successful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Good product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Alan Peat produced this book several years ago, and it comes highly recommended by all those who have used it within their own classroom practice. The book has a superb lay out, making it easy to follow and provides the user with a quick reference. With the increased focus on grammar from the government, this book is an ideal resource to refer to when thinking of creative ways to teach the wide variety of English grammar and punctuation.

The book provides teachers with a range of sentences and an explanation of how they work in a range of situations.

It allows children to create alternative openings to stories and will ensure that your children have a variety of sentence types at their disposal. My own class started using the sentences naturally after only one term and by the end of the year, most children were confident of using over 80% of the sentences provided.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
A delightful, easy to implement and engaging book. I will be using this 1:1 with pupils from 11 to 14 years old, as well as with my eight year old son. We took this book on holiday and I found my son looking through it to find different sentences we could try out each day. It also made me think about how I construct sentences in everyday communication.
Amazed, astonished, and enlightened, she realised how easy teaching sentences could be thanks to Alan Peat's wonderful book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Teachers! Head teachers! Book Alan Peat for your inset days at school. He is genius..! As for the book, it is a 'must have' for all teachers. It will help you to teach children a range of sentences/openers/punctuation that will really stay in their minds. The children will be able to access clever writing tips without it being a bore. Thank you Alan Peat!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
Fabulous book. Easy to implement, simple concepts that lead to big ideas. Astounded, amazed, and incredulous, I opened the envelope containing the book that arrived only a few days after I purchased it online. Thank you Alan Peat!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Helps children in creating a variety of sentences, gives examples and models the sentences. Very useful in improving writing, especially for reluctant boy writers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
This book has been used to help improve the writing in a year six class. The difference it has made to the enthusiasm of the children for writing is truely astounding. A must for those who want to make a difference.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
I was surprised at the amount of blank pages. Very little information. Not what I expected and definitely not worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)