Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2017
Taking into account that this book is written in 2008. For me the presentation using Kw/day/person is something not explained before. I now know the fire uphill struggle to change to renewables . This book is for the person who is willing to take time in understanding the basic energy units . For me it is above the usual treehugging books written with little understanding of the subject. It will be a book I will return to for future reference as I try to move to a more sustainable life style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Simply excellent. Essential reading for anyone interested in a thorough, reliable and readable explanation of the realities of our future energy choices. The decision to provide both explanations for the general reader and then separate chapters at the end giving the more detailed underlying science was very sensible. I enjoyed both, but found the ability to read the first half for an accessible overview invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Written by a pragmatist who wanted to cut through to the bottom line on the facts about energy use and generation in the UK. Methodologies that can be equally applied to other countries and nations.
I particularly liked the pictograms and graphs to help with gaining an understanding of the overall and true state of affairs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
I was reading the free pdf version from the author's website and I had to force myself to stop reading after ~150 pages so I could order a paper copy as a present. If everyone read this book, or even a summary of it, the world would be a better place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Excellent book about sustainable energy. It's contents could be used to argue for or against large scale investment in renewable sources, and successfully underlines the challenge of getting rid of fossil fuels. Informative charts and ballpark calculations are very informative, and easy to remember. The calculations are separated so if you are interested mainly in conclusions you can skip them easily.

As a student of energy technology I knew about the technologies, but the calculations for feasibility of large scale production were very useful. Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Very useful comments on all forms of energy production
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Very valuable indeed - Cuts to the chase and is " Ultra-light " on waffle. Very wide and relevant coverage of all the critical issues in the world of energy - " A Primer for all Energy Reasons " - Patrick Sinnott.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
I recommend this book to everyone, it's brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Excellent, but getting out of date a little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
The world needs physicists and engineers like never before to ensure that Mankind can live peacefully and sustainably in the future. This book is the best material to inspire intelligent youngsters who may be choosing to do a science subject at university that science can really be used to solve Mankind's problems. By working through the topics especially in the additional chapters they will begin to see that what they have learned at school is the building block of what they will learn at University and how these tools can have a real application to the problems of the world.

For all intelligent adults who have had a science training, this book is the one to reassure you that science (even simple science - not rocket science) allows a refreshing view on energy that puts all the waffle you hear on the media into stark contrast.

How pleased we should be that Professor David MacKay has been appointed Chief Scientific Advisor to the UK Government's Department of Energy and Climate Change. If he can persuade the policymakers with the same humour and candour we find in Sustainable Energy - without the hot air then the UK should be able to play an authoritative role in international deliberations on energy and climate change. Roll on Copenhagen.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)