Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2008
This is the best book you can get for becoming a winter mountain leader. Well, it's also good for people who just want to learn about winter mountain skills too.
There are all the necessary skills for winter navigation, building shelter, and climbing in winter. Best winter mountain skills book I have seen yet
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2007
An excellent handbook for the winter ML student and a first class guide to refresh experienced winter mountaineers. Clear concise and readable it is packed with lots of good reading. Loads of colour diagrams and pictures, plenty of explanation, it is easy and straightforward to follow. If after reading this you do not know your sastrugi from a rutchsblock then you should'nt be on the hills in winter. Required reading for ML students, every walker who ventures out in the Scottish winter should own a copy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
This book is fantastic and i would highly recomend it to anyone going back into the hills after a long summer. It is very easy to forget the nessessary skills to walk in the mountains safely but this book explains each one with clear pictures and text.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
This book is aimed at people doing serious winter hiking, scrambling and snow/ice climbing. It covers a broad range of mountain skills from navigation, weather and clothing to ice axe, crampon and rope techniques. Writing style is quite serious & academic, but still quite readable. Excellent illustrations help to bring the text to life. Some sections are aimed at people training to be mountain instructors, which weren't so relevant to me, so I rate it 4.5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2008
This is one of the best books I have seen for preperation for alpine climbng or any other winter mountain activity. I only wish it was availible here in the States.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
A good book for anyone interested in winter walking even if you are not a least bit interested in mountain leadership training!
Worth the money IMO and easy to understand too, unlike some of the books out there!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
We have been running alpine introduction and winter skills courses since 1983 (in the days when the Bossons Glacier near Chamonix, nearly reached the road!). We have relied mainly on tried and tested traditional alpine techniques. Over the years we have refined things if we felt there was an added benefit by "modernising".

There have been many instructional guides published before but we have not found one that teaches simply and concisely, in line with our own common practices ........ until now. This new guide by Cunningham and Fyffe is excellent. The photos are good and the diagrams are very clear and easy to follow. It is well written and is well worth getting if you are either a beginner to the sport of mountaineering or an experienced campaigner wanting some revision. Recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Having read a few in this series now, I have been consistently disappointed. Take for example the technique of moving together, one of the cornerstones of mountaineering and a technique that requires time and effort to be explained. This book dedicates about 5 pages to it. Most of it incomprehensible diagrams with 4 word summaries describing what's happening. Compare that to the number of pages dedicated to other subjects and you start to wonder if the authors have their priorites right. There aren't many alternatives to this book and if you do use one of the other publications expect raised eyebrows when you start using techniques not sactioned in the official text (believe it or not the yanks and those on the continent have their own views on how things should be done). If you do buy this book, expect to spend large parts of your time supplementing it through google searching, watching videos on YouTube and dipping in to google books - in part this is necessary because somenexplanations in this book are either so brief as to be incomprehensible or just incomprehensible. I say some as some explanations are done to death. Its almost as if the first half of the book is written for complete beginners and the second taught for advanced users looking for a refresher. Very unhelpful. Having said that the contents page acts as a useful index for things you should know, it's just a shame you have to supplement this book to such a significant extent. Be sure to check out google books as a resource, but I dare say you'll need to buy this book simply for the usefulness of it's contents page.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
This was recommended to me by a guide and frankly it's brilliant. Very easy to follow, clear illustrations and instructions, everything I needed ahead of my first foray into the hills in winter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
My son was very happy with this product, not very much you can say about this type of book, other than, it is a very insightful read, and is full of very helpful information about the subject. Very pleased with the seller, book arrived in good time and was packaged very well. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)