Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Winter Skills: Essential Walking and Climbing Techniques
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 June 2017
Top book with interesting chapters on a range of skills for hiking and climbing. The book doesn't shy away from some pretty sophisticated terminology and explanation but this adds to the experience. In Scotland this Winter I struggled to find the kinds of conditions where these skills could be put into good use - far too mild!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
This is an excellent book full of very clear and detailed information about winter walking and climbing skills. I would recommend this book for anybody serious about mountaineering in winter conditions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2017
everything you need bar video clips to get you introduced to winter mountaineering - booked on a 2 day skills course as a result of it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
A very concise reference book for anyone who loves the outdoors and exploring areas all year round.
Simple to understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2008
This is the best book you can get for becoming a winter mountain leader. Well, it's also good for people who just want to learn about winter mountain skills too.
There are all the necessary skills for winter navigation, building shelter, and climbing in winter. Best winter mountain skills book I have seen yet
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
This book is aimed at people doing serious winter hiking, scrambling and snow/ice climbing. It covers a broad range of mountain skills from navigation, weather and clothing to ice axe, crampon and rope techniques. Writing style is quite serious & academic, but still quite readable. Excellent illustrations help to bring the text to life. Some sections are aimed at people training to be mountain instructors, which weren't so relevant to me, so I rate it 4.5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
This book is fantastic and i would highly recomend it to anyone going back into the hills after a long summer. It is very easy to forget the nessessary skills to walk in the mountains safely but this book explains each one with clear pictures and text.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2007
An excellent handbook for the winter ML student and a first class guide to refresh experienced winter mountaineers. Clear concise and readable it is packed with lots of good reading. Loads of colour diagrams and pictures, plenty of explanation, it is easy and straightforward to follow. If after reading this you do not know your sastrugi from a rutchsblock then you should'nt be on the hills in winter. Required reading for ML students, every walker who ventures out in the Scottish winter should own a copy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
We have been running alpine introduction and winter skills courses since 1983 (in the days when the Bossons Glacier near Chamonix, nearly reached the road!). We have relied mainly on tried and tested traditional alpine techniques. Over the years we have refined things if we felt there was an added benefit by "modernising".

There have been many instructional guides published before but we have not found one that teaches simply and concisely, in line with our own common practices ........ until now. This new guide by Cunningham and Fyffe is excellent. The photos are good and the diagrams are very clear and easy to follow. It is well written and is well worth getting if you are either a beginner to the sport of mountaineering or an experienced campaigner wanting some revision. Recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
A good book for anyone interested in winter walking even if you are not a least bit interested in mountain leadership training!
Worth the money IMO and easy to understand too, unlike some of the books out there!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse