Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2017
Delightful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
This is an imaginative and entertaining children's book. For those already familiar with this or any of the other Moomintroll books, this edition is also beautifully produced. The text is in the form of rhyming poetry, which has been newly re-composed in English by Sophie Hannah from a literal translation. This verse and the pictures have held my 5-year old son enthralled, and he frequently asks to have it read to him again and again. This is a bargain purchase that does not simply rely on the cult status of the Moomintrolls!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2006
When i was little i probably read this 1000 times and never got tired.

It's fun trying to work out what is going to be on the next page as each page has a small cutout bit where you can view the next. Done very cleverly.

Have always loved the moomins and this is one of the best kids books about them.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2001
The thing that I like best about this book is that it has holes cut in each page so that you get a look at what's to come. But it is done in such a way that it's as if you are peering through trees in the woods. Nothing is out of place. Apart from the magic of Tove, the shaped pages give this book something really special.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 April 2015
For me to give less than 5 stars to any Moomin book feels like an offence to religious conviction. The Moomin books are nothing short of the ultimate standard for all children's novels and short stories.

Unfortunately, even though I have read all the Moomin books several times and still wanted more, this was not the more. It is more like a collection of pointless rhymes with none of the inspiration of the proper Moomin books.

I give it 3 stars (instead of fewer) because it may go down well with children of 4-5. Once your child reaches 6-7 he or she will be ready for Comet in Moominland and Finn Family Moomintroll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2001
When Moomin and Mymble get lost in the woods looking for Mymbles little sister My, they meet both scary and wonderful adventures. In Tove Jansson's world one can easily be eaten up by a vacuum cleaner but after an exciting day you'll be sure to be drinking juice on a sunny porch, surrounded by friends and the family Moomin. The books original titel, "What happened next?" describes the world of Moominland: there you are always eager to find out what is hidden behind the next tree or bush. And even if at times you are a bit lost or even scared (look out for that big Hemul!) you'll always have your friends with you to share the excitement with. This is truly a classical childrens book, filled with all those wonderful feelings connected with childhood that one has almost forgotten as an adult!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2003
A truly beautifully designed, written and die-cut book that amuses my 19-month-old son as much as it does us - the rhymes are brilliantly translated, quirky and flow fantastically when read aloud; and the illustrations have a gorgeous, graphic feel. Aesthetically and aurally, this has got to be my number one children's book of all times.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 1998
Having grown up in Scandinavia this was one of the first books I ever read, and I have read it many times since. It is a poetic wonderfully bizarre book, and when you read it along with the rest of Tove Jansson's books you realize that her magical world of mumins isn't really all that different from the one we live in. Best of all, Tove Jansson opens a window to the reader's soul in her writing, and you recognize yourself in her books.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
My girls found this book quirky and unusual if a little spooky but it kind of grows on them. It is fun because the pages are cut away or have holes in them so it is interactive. It makes a refreshing change to the quite dull English picture books that you dread your child wanting you to read so that you hide them under the bed!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This has a wonderful retro feel to it. Very nicely produced and good quality. Although, in essence, a picture book, it is for the slightly older child - or those with a good attention span, as the story is fairly long. That is not a criticism though, just be aware that if you have a younger child (below 3) there are some nice new picture books which might be a more suitable introduction. For over three's though, this is lovely addition to the bookshelves.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse