Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2016
Error made by myself on earlier review. The published date was in the details, I missed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Great, just as advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Great book for beginner through to coach
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Good clean book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Very comprehensive book - explains all the basics and gives a great overview of the history of kayaking. Having bought a used copy it is slightly out of date in terms of names of organisations but the theory and practical advice is spot on. Not a substitute for proper coaching and training!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
I really love this book, i have not found a better book in another language. All canoe and kayak-disciplines are introduced here, with excellent advice. The pictures are clear to me too.

For the beginner it can be overwhelming that there is so much canoe you can do, but for canoe and nature-lovers that is also fantastic: the only problem is that there are so many disciplines to choose from! But nothing keeps you from trying and this book really gives you confidence and a good introduction.

I really recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2003
An ideal way to start the kayaking or canoeing life. I thought having a kayak would be a nice 'thing' to have for the odd occasion but now I've read the book I know how far I can go in the sport, no matter what direction I choose.
I think this is really for the new to the sport but as its so well written by so many writters it carries the reader along. Its not going to be an old favorite and used by the reader in a few years so it may get a bit dusty. For the new person its fantastic, glad I bought it.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2002
Franco Ferrero and the team of contributers have done the business here. The Handbook is now in line with current theory and practice in all forms of paddlesports. The book is very readable, well illustrated with colour pics and diagrams and will definitely appeal to beginners and experts alike. Often thought of as a coaching manual, the revised handbook is now clearly aimed at all types of paddler; recreational, instructional and coach. The individual contributers are all experts and many very well known in their chosen field of expertise. I would heartily reccomend this text to any paddler looking for answers, advice and information. If it is not contained in the book, each chapter has a list of further reading, websites and video references.
An excellent investment.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2007
I purchased this book as well as "Paddle your own Canoe" by the McGurrins (5* plus). Whilst the BCU guide covers many topics I was very disappointed by the layout and illustrations. I have just purchased a canoe having spent many years in sea kayaks. The caneoing section didn't clear guidance on stroke technique and pictorially demonstrate how it should be done. Buy "Paddle your own canoe" if you want clear concise instructions supported by very good photographs.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2002
This book contains loads of useful information on canoeing and kayaking, its a long awaited update for the old BCU handbook. It is just as useful to the experienced coach or the total beginner
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)