Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
This is the best book for British butterflies. Other butterfly books put in loads of irrelevant European butterflies in to make up the book, which only confuses you if trying to identify a UK butterfly. This one focuses only on the 60 or so that are found in the UK. Lots of useful detail in an accessible format, and pictures showing the butterflies life size, which is vital. I love it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Great book...buy it excellent details and drawings, slim and useful for a pack back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Perfect thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
great guide and nice and compacy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
Full of good info a good.buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
Speaking as a birdwatcher who started on insects one summer when all the birds were abroad, this book is excellent. The illustrations are clear for every stage of the lifecycle, the distribution maps are immensely useful and unlike the Collins, the number of butterflies isn't overwhelming. This guide concentrates on Great Britain and Ireland, and as a result it can afford to go into quite a bit of detail on each species while still being small enough to carry round as a field guide.

There are also a couple of useful sections on Rare Migrant/Extinct species, and the more common day-flying moths. The thing about insects is that there are millions of them and not many people watching, so there's always a chance you'll be the first to see something unexpected.

As a field guide generally, this is among the best I've ever owned. I've mentioned the illustrations, but there is a section at the start which explains the characteristics of the different families and gives you a bit of background. Very useful and very high quality. I have no fear that this will fall apart out in the field.

All in all, a very deserving 5/5. Would recommend to anyone as a book for both the field and the kitchen window sill.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have only recently decided to take my interest in butterflies further by trying to learn more about them, and to attempt to identify them on sight alone. Because of this, I quickly started looking for a handy guide to the butterflies of Britain, and finally decided upon this one. I am glad I chose this as my beginning in discovering and learning more about these beautiful creatures.

The guide is put together very well. Each butterfly has 2 pages devoted to it. Information included about each butterfly consisits of a small map of Great Britain to show where the butterfly can be found, colour illustrations of both the male and the female, as well as showing the colours and markings of the underside of the wings, as well as details of what stage they are in during which months of the year.

At the beginning of the guide, the structure of a butterfly is descibed and illustrated, along with information about the life cycle.

The author has also explained the butterfly families, as each butterfly is to be found within their family group.

For a small book, this has lots of valuable information. I am sure that I shall quickly pick up the skills to identify them and that I shall soon be on the way to knowing more about them - their eating and mating habits for example.

Although I chose this guide so as to introduce me slowly to butterflies by just concentrating on my own country, it has certainly helped to even further my interest and want to learn more about butterflies throughout the world.
0Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
Bought this book summer 2009 -- plenty of butterflies around. The great thing about this book is that it's not full of clutter! Butterflies are illustrated in life-size. Has good description and clear area of distribution. As it is for UK only, not too many species, and a nice slim book to carry in knapsack whilst walking. Well worth the moneyPocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
This is just what we were looking for. Just the right size for the pocket when out walking. Good colour illustrations and size indicators for the entire life cycle. Identifying one chrysalis on the day we received it, to have it confirmed within a few days when we watched the new butterfly take wing, was enough to get us going.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
This was the book recommended by experts accompanying us on a NT butterfly discovery walk. The book is a concise guide to all the varieties seen in Britain, leaving out the European ones not seen in the UK. For each type it shows life size colour views of M and F adults (both upper and under wing views), and egg, crysalis and caterpiller stages. It shows the locality and when you will see each of them. Nevertheless there are still around a hundred shown including a few daytime flying moths to aid in recognition.
The bewildering task of identification is considerably simplified with this book by allowing you to greatly reduce the list of possibilities depending on time of year, habitat and location. As a bonus there is an included loose-leaf sheet of illustrations if you don't want to take the book with you. Even if you don't want to go out looking for butterflies, this book will help you identify those you see in your garden or perhaps tell you which variety a chrysalis will develop into.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)