Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2016
Just what was wanted.Butterfly photographs are useless for recognition
for the average seeker.The illustrations in this guide are excellent and will be hard to better.
I have been using an earlier guide by Richard Lewington and find it very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
The addition of an 'at-a-glance guide' to this second edition has converted it into a perfect, pocket-sized, one-stop-shop identification book for field use. The illustrations by Richard Lewington are of course without compare, as we have come to expect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
Handy little book that lists most, if not all butterflies in the UK with illustrations. Explains the complete life cycle of butterflies and includes illustrations of the caterpillars, eggs and chrysalis.
Now I just have to find a similar book for moths..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Although I have yet to use this guide in 'anger', it appears to be well set-out and an attempt has been made to assist identification at the front of the book. The body of the book is well-illustrated and informative. Be prepared for slow delivery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
A handy little book for taking out and about on walks - fits nicely into my coat pocket or bag alongside my lightweight binoculars. Has just the right level of detail I want as an amateur spotter, and the illustrations are very pretty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Absolutely perfect, lovely small pocket book with all the information you need in the field to give you that identification for all our species. The best book on Butterflies you can buy without spending lots of pounds!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
This is a most excellent book, small enough to slip into your pocket, the illustrations and information are second to none.Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Good coverage of butterflies of GB and Ireland. Clear text and life size illustrations. Much better than the Dorling Kindersley guide which has miniscule text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
An excellent and compact guide to UK butterflies. Lewington's illustrations are as always faultless. Good companion to his books on British moths
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
A beautifully illustrated concise little book. a perfect pocket sized guide to the butterflies you will find throughout the British isles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)