Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2009
Its a very good book...but its not as easy to follow as other books available right here on Amazon. As loads of ideas and helps you figger out alot, but as i said before, its preferable for more experience automata creators.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
This is a great book for learning the craft of making moving wooden machines. There is potential to develop your own machines using the techniques learnt from this book, it has potential for being a great teaching aide
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
I purchased three books and this has to be the best of them (please see other automata book reviews)

It is designed with a wire-binding so makes a very workshop friendly book for reference and being able to be laid flat and stay put! Like many of these genre, you are presented with lined drawings so this is not a book of kit designs for copy - you will still need to develop your own design ideas, planning and working through your shapes and wire connections to facilitate movement. That said it does uncover much of the magic of 'how automata stuff works' much better and more clearly than most other books (in my opinion)
I also like the more compact size personally, again it makes for better reference in confined workshop space and is just handier to handle?? if that makes any sense at all!
Great to dip into, light hearted but covers much of the mechanics of automata with plenty of alternative solutions provided and indeed questions posed to the reader for further testing and examination.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
For someone like me, that mechanic knowledge is basic, is pretty easy to understand how everything works, I enjoy reading it. and I learned lots
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
i should have believed other's comments, though the book is still valuable in some aspects. The content is too brief, looks like just an introduction. I really hope to find some details of the impressed automata in this book but feel disappointed. However if you just want to understand the component of automata, it offers enough information and basic knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
But taught me very little. Only an adequete book that should have had more detail like the tooling I should use and dimentions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Just what I was looking for in my new desire to understand and make automata.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
This might be the best book. Ever ever. Ever!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)