Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 March 2017
easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2017
This book definitely get one started with low whistle.
My issue was with accompanying CD, it only holds tracks until midway of the book. Major part of the real tunes in the end and not in the CD. According to book and publishers Web page the rest of the tunes can be found in iTunes. I tried my best but was not able to find them there.
Also I was hoping even small chapter about taking care of the whistle, but no info about that was included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2015
Have started my low whistle life with three different tutorials, over four months; progress is good.
The Jesuit priest (free online), and Cathal McConnell (good CD, large clear scores, and steady progression), are far better.
This initial tutorial overemphasises fingering positions, yet with only two practice tunes delves into music I struggle to play.
The final collection of "Terrific Tunes" (small score) is impressive, ending of course with The Lonesome Boatman.
Starting to play simple melodies, rather than learning advanced techniques, is a less frustrating way forward for me.
Many folk will give up if cuts, taps, rolls, rubs and even Cranns are in the first half of the book !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2012
The Low Whistle Book is an invaluable book for those who want to learn how to play this instrument. The book was well thought out, ensuring that the student would progress in easy steps to becoming a good low whistle player.

Good though the book is, it does have its weaknesses. The CD is comprehensive and closely follows the book - too closely - often to the extent of reciting the book word for word - even the jokes. Perhaps I'm being picky, but I would have liked the CD to have added more to the course than simply reciting the book. Music theory is gone into, but not to the extent that it would be of any use to a novice. Better to get another book if you want to approach the low whistle from this angle.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2013
This comes with a good cd to help understand the songs. It's a good step by step book - at times quite funny and it's a great help in getting to grips with the low whistle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2014
Excellent tuitional......but about time Steafan produced the second CD and retained integrity...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2016
Very clear introduction to the low whistle. I'm very pleased with my purchase and would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
This is a really good book I would recommend it to Beginners and even to those who know how to play.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2016
good with CD but would prefer DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2015
Wonderful product, excellent seller A***
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)