Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
56
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2009
What superb value! - and Jane Schofield even sent back an overpayment on the postage.

I am in the building industry (a chartered builder) but did not know anything much about lime mortar as I had never come across its use. This book filled in all the gaps. What types of lime there are, how to mix it and how to use it. In lime wash, in plaster, in rendering and in mortar - even in limewash and limed oak!

It would make an excellent starter book for a student, a builder or a keen do-it-yourselfer. In simple terms it covers the preparation and use of non-hydraulic lime (for Lime Putty), and just touches on hydrated lime (bag lime) and hydraulic lime. And there's a section on the tools to use.

It is a user's guide for the use of lime putty rather than a treatise on the performance of lime mortars. I highly recommend it and look forward to putting it into practice on my old barn.

This book is truly excellent value. Buy it! Tom
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
It's exactly what it says, it's a good practical guide, but it doesn't cover the use of Hydraulic Lime in bagged powdered form. Very informative if your intending to use lime putty (non-hydraulic lime), though I prefer the Haynes manual titled Period Property which covers the use of both forms of lime and is indispensable for people who are thinking of buying and restoring an old house.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
I own a listed building which was converted by a developer 5 years ago. However, in true developer style it was done without any care towards the age of the building. I need a book to tell me what to do with lime and this delivers exactly what I wanted - a short and to-the-point practical guide to working with lime.

I'm also very impressed with Black Dog Press. Communicated well and delivered bang on time. To sum up - OUTSTANDING...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
The best book I have bought for working in older buidlings. I was being told to build in with cement on an old stone structure. I cannot recommend this book enough as I have an old stone farm house and barn to restore and now using lime has been so easy.
What ever you do do not follow the advise of modern young surveyors who just do not understand old buildings.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
This booklet is a veritable mine of information, recipes,applications and exactly how-to's. If you were to buy only one book on lime and its applications and uses in building this would be it.

Could it have been longer/thicker? Yes. Would that have helped it to be a better book? Absolutely No.

The author could have done as so many do, which is take a subject and bury it under mounds of information, where you have to spend weeks digging through the useless in order to extract the nuggets that have real life application. This is a booklet of pure nuggets basically. There is nothing superfluous in it.

It's beauty is really in its simplicity and cutting to the chase. The diagrams though simple are exactly what you need in terms of seeing for instance the depth and angle you need to dig out the old before repointing with new. External, internal, on wood, pretty much everything you're ever likely to do with lime is covered. Even a section on slacking your own lime if needed. I am a complete beginner where lime is concerned, have never used it, but having discovered beautiful though old and crumbling stone walls beneath a dreadful shell of moulding plasterboard I'm itching to get started. The recipes alone are worth the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2009
I work in building conservation and whilst I have many more expensive books, this one answers the questions the others forgot. Lots of concise and practical info. Thanks!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This book is so well conceived I would recommend it to anyone on the threshold of using lime in building work. It is encouraging without disguising possible pitfalls and induces confidence. The list of suppliers and contacts is excellent and for a short book it carries more really useful information than many longer publications. Well worth the money and a terrific publisher.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2016
Everything you need to know about Lime technology in Buildings. Practical reasoning and explanations throughout. concise text with good drawings and sketches that communicate without ambiguity. The why's and how to's clearly explained.

Niall Keane B.Arch BSc.Arch MRIAI (Registered Architect)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
The essential and classic book for anyone who has or is contemplating living in a Listed Building. Follow this and you will not fall foul of your Listed Buildings Officer and the consequences of not following Heritage Regulations. I am an Owner and an amateur Listed Building Carer !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Told me all I needed to know about lime. Direct and to the point, no flaffing around unlike some more established publications which don't really tell you the difference in types of lime in practical terms. Prompt delivery which included a refund of a portion of the postage which was a very nice gesture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)