Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
52
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2011
I am just a beginner learning about marine biology. I found this book extreemly useful and informative. The book is packed with large, colourful, high quality pictures which are really useful when trying to ID different species. There's just the right amount of text to inform and keep your interest each species is marked with the latin name and common names where applicable. I found this book very helpful when IDing marine species after a recent dive trip, even as a beginner i found this book really helped me. The book is split into useful easy to use sections which really helps when you are trying to find something specific. This new edition has alot more content and many more pictures than the previous edition. Thank you Paul for this beautiful and useful book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
This was one of my first books I bought when I began scuba diving and wanted to identify everything that I'd seen and photographed.

It has excellent quality pictures, large sized, with a good amount of supporting information.

The only reason I've given 4, and not 5 stars, is that the book only covers the more common species you might expect to find. There are other books out there that have a much wider selection of species, but generally these are a lot bigger and more expensive, with smaller pictures.

Overall, this book is an excellent starting point. Usually if a species isn't in the book, it gives enough information for you to narrow down your search of possible species.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2005
While this book is great for the recreational diver, not by any means are all the brirish species encountered, but most of the bases are covered.
Please note that there is a 2nd edition out now for £10.50 on amazon (at time of writing)and £15.00 rrp
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
The item arrived pretty quick. It is an excellent guide if your thinking about diving or even snorkelling in the Great 'warm' British sea. It is an excellent book for the novice or experience connoisseur. it is extremely informative with a vast amount of detail with over 300 pages of excellent clear pictures [more than one picture per page. It has a straight forward reference guide at the beginning so it doesn't take long to find what you may be looking for. If your thinking about what's under the sea then this book is a must.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2005
this book is a damn good investment for any one interested in our cold but beautful waters
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
Brilliant book and reference guide for lay people or scientists alike,fabulous photographs and in depth knowledge just shine throughout this wonderful book.I cannot praise this enough.Paul Naylor has done a superb job with this and I would highly recommend this to all.Hand on heart it is the best British Marine book out there by any author.Top Marks to Mr Naylor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Brilliant, fantastic photography, scientific but easy to read, a warm and fuzzy feeling book with plenty of detail and a cracking insight into the underwater world that surrounds our coasts.
Even if your water experience goes no further than rock pools it's well worth buying, probably why it sells out so quick in the local shops here on Anglesey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
This book is perfect for next semester as I need to brush up on marine coastal life. Lot's of good detailed pictures for identification and information about each species. It is sectioned out into the major phylums such as echinoderms and sponges, focusing on these smaller creatures as well as fish rather than mammal marine life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
Reviewed for web site:- whats that fish. Good book with a lot of information.
However it would have been nice to have consistent information through out the book such as size and the depth at which creatures are found not just a few. Pictures are nice although a bit on the dark side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Very complete book with superb coluor photos. Highly recomended for those interested in British native marine life. I bought this to identify species for my temoerate marine aqaurium and I'm very glad I did. None of the other books I have purchased are anyway near as complete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse